This is the "Background Information" page of the "Art & Art History Topic Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art & Art History Topic Guide  

Last Updated: May 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gettysburg.edu/art Print Guide RSS Updates

Background Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Background Information

  • Grove Art -- REF N 31 .D5 1996
    Note: This is an excellent place to begin. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, and the performing arts, worldwide and all time periods. It is also available online, but restricted to the Gettysburg College community at:
    Grove Art Online


  • Biographical Dictionary of Artists -- REF N 40 .B53 1995
    Includes colored, and black and white photographs of artists' works


  • Encyclopedia of World Art -- Reference N 31 .E533
    Covers all countries and all time periods. Subject matter covers painting, sculpture and architecture.

  • McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Art -- Reference N 33 M23
    Information about artists' lives, artistic styles, periods, buildings, museums and art terms.

 

Search for local material

:

 

GettDigital Collections

Asian Art Collection Asian Art
A digital archive showcasing half of the College's 2,000-item collection of Asian art, which includes ceramics, jewelry, jade, and other artifacts.
Map Collection
      
Civil War Civil War Era Collection
A digital collection of political cartoons, personal papers, pamphlets, maps, paintings and photographs from the Civil War Era.
Historic Gettysburg College Historic Gettysburg College
A digital archive featuring materials of intellectual and cultural significance to the Gettysburg College Community: Historic Photographs, Manuscripts, Artifacts & Memorabilia and Publications.

       

The Gettysburg Postcard Collection presents vintage postcards depicting views of the Gettysburg College and Gettysburg Seminary campuses as well as images of the town and Battlefield.

19th Century Images of Greece & the Near East

A digital collection of nineteenth century images of Constantinople, Jerusalem, and Athens from notable photography studios such as Maison Bonfils, Sebah & Joaillier, and Abdullah Frères.

New England Loyal Publication Society

New England Loyal Publication Society
A digital collection of broadsides published by the New England Loyal Publication Society. This society, founded in 1863, influenced public opinion through the distribution of pro-Union articles, editorials, and literature.
Gettysburg College Sheet Music Collection Gettysburg College Sheet Music Collection
A digital collection of sheet music of Gettysburg College songs.
Stephen Warner collection

Stephen H. Warner Collection
A digital collection of images taken by Stephen Warner, Class of 1968, during the Vietnam War.

World War II Posters World War II Poster Collection
A digital collection of World War II propaganda posters from the Allied Forces.
Finding Aids Special Collections Manuscript Collection Finding Aids
This digital collection contains PDF versions of the full descriptive inventories for large collections of personal papers, faculty papers, and student organizations.

Eisenhower Collection
A digital collection of correspondence and memorabilia of Mamie and Dwight D. Eisenhower.

Nineteenth Century Noteables Nineteenth Century Notables
A digital collection of cartes de visite and cabinet cards of notable personalities from the Nineteenth Century.
Hidden in Plain Sight Hidden in Plain Sight
A digital collection of student papers and images of objects "hidden in plain sight" around the Gettysburg College campus.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Robin Wagner
Contact Info
103B Musselman Library
717-337-6768
Send Email
Subjects:
Asian Studies
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip