Skip to main content
Banner Image

Gettysburg College History in Special Collections: Home

A guide to the History of Gettysburg College sources found in Special Collections.

Athletics

Baseball Team 1892 

Pennsylvania College

Baseball Team, 1892

GettDigital

Historic Gettysburg College
A digital archive featuring materials of intellectual and cultural significance to the Gettysburg College Community: Historic Photographs, Manuscripts, Artifacts & Memorabilia and Publications.

GettDigital Collections

College History in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in the history of Gettysburg College might want to investigate:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to College History-- these are general documents pertaining to the college. Included are materials such as letters, essays and scorebooks.

Manuscript Collections of College Documents-- these are materials more specific than college history in that they denote an official record or legal document. Included are materials such as building committee reports and treasurer's records.

Oral History Collection-- includes interviews with various professors, alumni, and other college personnel.

Photographs

College Archives

  • Consult an archivist about possible Record Groups pertaining to your area of inquiry.

Minutes and Publications

Gettysburgian (1897-2004 available online; Loose issues from 2004 to present)

Spectrum (LD2001. G405)

Alumni Record of Gettysburg College, 1832-1932 (LD2001. G401 1832-1932)

College Histories

A Salutary Influence: Gettysburg College, 1832 - 1985, by Charles Glatfelter.

Miscellaneous Volumes-- includes materials such as faculty grade books, notebooks, and athletic minutes. Most range in date from 1840s - 1950s.

Browse Subject Vertical Files

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

Subject Guide

Catherine Perry
Contact:
(717) 337-7002 / (717) 337-7046
Website / Blog Page

Questions?


Musselman Library

Circulation: 717-337-7024

Reference: 717-337-6600

IM Chat: GettLibraryHelp

Musselman Library
Campus Box 420
300 North Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325