Online Resources
- Company DossierProvides most public company information for companies including: analysis and basic information, news stories, company profiles, list of competitors, corporate hierarchy, financial information, legal information, and intellectual property information.
- Standard & Poor's Net AdvantageProvides corporation records, industry surveys, and stock reports from the previous 10 years. 9 users.
- Standard & Poor's Industry Surveysprovides economic and business information on 52 major U.S. industries, analyzing operations, highlighting current problems and opportunities, and giving trends.
- International Directory of Company HistoriesProvides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
Articles
- Business Source EliteProvides citations to and many full text articles about business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting from 1985-present.
- EmeraldProvides abstracts and some full text of management articles. Coverage includes the major management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, marketing and human resource management.
- LexisNexis AcademicProvides full-text access to nearly 6,000 titles in news, business, and law. Years of coverage: varies by title.
Annual Reports, 10K
The Annual Report to Shareholders is the principal document used by most public companies to disclose corporate information to shareholders. It is usually a state-of-the-company report including an opening letter from the Chief Executive Officer, financial data, results of continuing operations, market segment information, new product plans, subsidiary activities and research and development activities on future programs.
10-K reports - This is the annual report that most reporting companies file with the Securities & Exchange Commission. It provides a comprehensive overview of the registrant's business. The report must be filed within 90 days after the end of the company's fiscal year.
Annual Reports - lists annual reports published on the internet.
SEC Edgar Database - full text reports (10-K, 10-Q, and more) from US public companies via Securities & Exchange Commission (1993-present)
Annual Reports Service - Provides access to annual reports, quarterly earnings, and other information on select companies.
Stocks
- Yahoo Finance Stock Research
Find earnings data, company reports and historical quotes.
Background Information
It is easier to find information about public companies (those that sell stock to shareholders) than about private companies (those that are privately owned by an individual or group). Public companies in the United States are required to file documents with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). These include the 10K (annual) and 10Q (quarterly) reports. In addition, public companies issue an annual report to shareholders.
When looking for information about a company, consider both for information from the company about itself (e.g., the company Web page, SEC filings, press releases, etc.) as well as information about the company written by others (e.g.., newspaper articles, analyst reports, articles by business school professors, etc.)
Finding information about a company includes the following steps:
- Get an overview of the company; find out if it is public or private.
- Find the company web page.
- If the company is public, find relevant 10K and 10Q reports and annual reports to shareholders.
- Look for news and periodical articles to give you additional information. (This may be one of the only ways to find information on a private company.)
- For public companies, also look at analyst reports.
- Find competitors.
Many of the business information resources will give you all of these types of information.

Loading...
