This is the "Home" page of the "Gettysburg College History in Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gettysburg College History in Special Collections   Tags: college_history, gettysburg_college  

A guide to the History of Gettysburg College sources found in Special Collections.
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gettysburg.edu/sc_collegehistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Athletics

Baseball Team 1892 

Pennsylvania College

Baseball Team, 1892

 

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

 

GettDigital

Historic Gettysburg College
A digital archive featuring materials of intellectual and cultural significance to the Gettysburg College Community: Historic Photographs, Manuscripts, Artifacts & Memorabilia and Publications.

GettDigital Collections

 

College History in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in the history of Gettysburg College might want to investigate:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to College History-- these are general documents pertaining to the college. Included are materials such as letters, essays and scorebooks.

Manuscript Collections of College Documents-- these are materials more specific than college history in that they denote an official record or legal document. Included are materials such as building committee reports and treasurer's records.

Oral History Collection-- includes interviews with various professors, alumni, and other college personnel.

Photographs

College Archives

  • Consult an archivist about possible Record Groups pertaining to your area of inquiry.

Minutes and Publications

Gettysburgian (1897-2004 available online; Loose issues from 2004 to present)

Spectrum (LD2001. G405)

Alumni Record of Gettysburg College, 1832-1932 (LD2001. G401 1832-1932)

College Histories

A Salutary Influence: Gettysburg College, 1832 - 1985, by Charles Glatfelter.

Miscellaneous Volumes-- includes materials such as faculty grade books, notebooks, and athletic minutes. Most range in date from 1840s - 1950s.

Browse Subject Vertical Files

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

 

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Special Collections
Contact Info
(717) 337-7002 / (717) 337-7046
Send Email
 

Questions?

 

Ask an Archivist


Special Collections

Musselman Library

Fourth Floor

Gettysburg College Box 420

Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-331-7015

Reading Room Hours:

When Classes are in session

M, Th, F : 1 - 5 PM
T, W : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer Hours

By appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip