Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Eisenhower Memorabilia and Sources in Special Collections  Tags: eisenhower american_history  

Guide featuring sources and memorabilia concerning former US President, Dwight D. Eisenhower.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2008 URL: http://libguides.gettysburg.edu/sc_eisenhower  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Stadium Dedication

 

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.

 
 

Eisenhower in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections contains some materials related to Dwight D. Eisenhower. A researcher might want to investigate the following:

Eisenhower, Dwight D. Sheet music entitled "A March to Eisenhower," by H.D. Hirsh and J.M. Frank-3pp. VFM-205 (oversize)

Eisenhower, Mamie. Collection of letters from Mamie Eisenhower to to her friends, Dr. J. Holt McCracken and his wife Vivien of California from 1961-1979.  MS-071

Eisenhower, Mamie. Letter from Mrs. Eisenhower to Charles and Elizabeth Wolf thanking them for a gift and relating her reunion with her family in Washington including grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Certificate of Authenticity included. TLS-1p. VFM-311

Eisenhower, Mamie. Collection of six letters, printed ephemera and signed photograph from Mamie Eisenhower, 1950-1978; Two letters to Miss Hildegarde, 14 December 1966 and 16 December 1971 (with printed ephemera); Letter to Mrs. Robert Guggenheim, 4 November 1950; New Year’s card to Rev. and Mrs. Carol, 1978; Letter and printed card to Mr. John A. Logan, 8 June 1960; Printed card to Mrs. Anita Clark, n.d.; Photograph signed and dedicated to Mrs. Gilford Mayes, n.d. VFM-341

Eisenhower/Nevins Christmas Cards, etc. Includes several Christmas cards from the 1960s and 1970s, two guides to Culzean Castle in Scotland (no date), and a program for the St. Joseph College Sesquicentennial Academic Convocation, 1959. VFM-242

Musselman Stadium Dedication. Newspaper articles, press releases, and articles regarding the stadium. Also includes notes, correspondence, and plans by Gettysburg College officials, as well as two tickets for a Sept. 25, 1965 Bucknell V. Gettysburg football game. VFM-247

Weiser, Fred. Class of 1957. Letter written to Prof. Michael Birkner describes various details about the Eisenhowers in Gettysburg and Mr. Weiser's experience escorting the Eisenhowers to their seats in Christ Chapel for the liturgy during Mother's Day weekend in Spring 1956. CS, ALS-2pp. VFM-305

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

 

GettDigital

Eisenhower Collection
A digital collection of letters of Mamie and Dwight D. Eisenhower.

 

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageSpecial Collections
Contact Info:
(717) 337-7015
Send Email

 

Questions?

 

Ask an Archivist


Special Collections

Musselman Library

Fourth Floor

Gettysburg College Box 420

Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-331-7015

Reading Room Hours:

When Classes are in session

M, Th, F : 1 - 5 PM
T, W : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer Hours

By appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait