Finding Slavery/Abolition Sources in Special Collections
Books, pamphlets and other published materials:
Slavery:
- Perform a subject search on MUSCAT
- Select "Limit Search"
- Under the "WHERE Item is Located" menu, choose "Special Collections" in order to locate Special Collections sources dealing with slavery.
- Subject headings include:
- "Slavery"
- "Slavery and the Church"
- "Slavery Anti Slavery Movements United States"
- "Slavery Fiction"
- "Slavery in the United States"
- "Slavery Justification"
- "Slavery Law and Legislation in the United States:
- "Slavery United States Personal Narratives"
- Books that discuss slavery in specific states
- The majority of the texts are from the Nineteenth Century.
Anti-Slavery:
- Perform a subject search on MUSCAT
- Select "Limit Search"
- Under the "WHERE Item is Located" menu, choose "Special Collections" in order to locate Special Collections sources dealing with anti-slavery.
- Subject headings include:
- "Anti Slavery Movements Fiction"
- "Anti Slavery Movements United States"
- "Anti Slavrey Movements Pennsylvania Gettysburg"
- The majority of these texts are from the Nineteenth Century
Abolition:
- Perform a subject search on MUSCAT
- Select "Limit Search"
- Under the "WHERE Item is Located" menu, choose "Special Collections" in order to locate Special Collections sources dealing with abolitionism.
- Subject headings include:
- "Abolitionists"
- "Abolitionists Pennsylvania Fiction"
- "Abolitionists Pennsylvania Gettysburg"
- Note: When searching the subject heading "Abolitionism" one will be directed to see "Antislavery Movements"
- The majority of these texts are from the Nineteenth Century
Non-published materials:
Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts. Please consult an archivist for assistance.
Comments (0)
Search
Search Special Collections and College Archives
(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)
Subject Guide |
Questions?
Special Collections
Musselman Library
Fourth Floor
Gettysburg College Box 420
Gettysburg, PA 17325
717-331-7015
Reading Room Hours:
When Classes are in session
M, Th, F : 1 - 5 PM
T, W : 1 - 5 and 6 - 9 PM
Summer Hours
By appointment only
Special Collections Rules of Use


Loading...
