This is the "Home" page of the "Civil War Sources in Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil War Sources in Special Collections   Tags: civil_war, history, military_history  

Guide to the Civil War Era sources available in Special Collections.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.gettysburg.edu/sc_civilwar Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Civil War

 

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

 

GettDigital

Civil War Era Collection
A collection of political cartoons, personal papers, pamphlets, maps, paintings and photographs from the Civil War Era.

New England Loyal Publication Society
A digital collection of broadsides published by the New England Loyal Publication Society. This society, founded in 1863, influenced public opinion through the distribution of pro-Union articles, editorials, and literature.
 
 

 

Civil War in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in Civil War might want to investigate:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to the Civil War

Browse Subject Vertical Files

Photographs

The Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, located in the Reading Room

GettDigital Civil War Era Collection

College Archives and Publications that may be of use:

Additional information can be found in:

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

 

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Special Collections
Contact Info
(717) 337-7002 / (717) 337-7046
Send Email
 

Questions?

 

Ask an Archivist


Special Collections

Musselman Library

Fourth Floor

Gettysburg College Box 420

Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-331-7015

Reading Room Hours:

When Classes are in session

M, Th, F : 1 - 5 PM
T, W : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer Hours

By appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip