Last Updated: Jan 29, 2014
Simultaneously search the following databases. Need help? Contact a reference librarian.
- MLA Bibliography
Provides citations to articles, books, working papers, and more on English and foreign language literature, language, and folklore. Articles date from 1926-present.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides citations and some full-text for articles in journals and magazines, covering social sciences, humanities, education, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and more.
Musselman Library catalog.
Provides access to full-text journals articles across all disciplines. Years of coverage: varies by journal title.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides citations to Western-language books, articles, and book chapters in all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Articles date from 1971-present.
- Access World News
Provides full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
- China: Culture and Society
Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available rare pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia. It also includes scholarly essays, an interactive chronology, and mini guides.
- China Statistics - China Data Online
Provides data on China's economic development at the national, provincial, city, country, and industrial levels.
- Chinese Newspapers Collection
Contains 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers, covering the period from 1832-1953
Provides profiles of over 182 countries including information about customs, courtesies, lifestyle, and society.
- Europa World Plus
Provides access to The Europa World Year Book and Regional Surveys of the World with regular online updates. Includes economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country and a listing of international organizations.
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods). Use to locate items that Musselman Library does not own.
- Visualising China
Allows users to explore more than 8,000 digitised images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Provides searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries in Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish.
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages.
- Accent Online Journal for the Languages
Serves as a forum promoting the study of foreign languages by publishing pieces which showcase the scholarly and artistic efforts of talented Gettysburg College undergraduates.
- Asian Art Collection: A digital archive showcasing half of the College's 2,000-item collection of Asian art, which includes ceramics, jewelry, jade, and other artifacts.