Quick CWES Search
This box searches these core Civil War Era Studies databases:
- Academic Search Premier Provides citations and some full-text for articles in journals and magazines, covering social sciences, humanities, education, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and more.
- America: History & Life Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Provides full-text of letters, diaries, and memoirs covering 1861-1865.
- American Periodical Series (APS) Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes periodicals that commenced publication between 1740-1900.
- Humanities Abstracts Provides citations to articles covering all humanities subject areas. Years of coverage: 1984-present.
- MUSCAT
Primary Sources
- Army Official Records of the Civil War Provides a record of official military records for Union and Confederate armies from 1880-1901. Free access from Cornell University.
- Civil War Era GettDigital Collection
- Harpweek Provides full-text access to Harper's Weekly, America’s leading 19th Century illustrated newspaper. Years of coverage: 1857-1912.
- Historical Newspapers - ProQuest Provides full-text articles from the New York Times (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990), Washington Post (1877-1991), The Guardian (1791-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
- Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters and Ephemera Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow researchers to experience the events of the war that tested and defined America.
- Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers
Other CWES Research Tools
- Lincoln and His Circle (Univ of Rochester)
- WorldCat
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods). Use to locate items that Musselman Library does not own.
GettDigital Collections
Subject Guide |
Karen DrickamerDescription
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait