Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 

Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gettysburg.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HIST 271 African History             Print Page
  

Reference Books

Reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) provide basic background information.  Some include suggestions for further reading.  They may be print or online. 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) and Oxford Reference Online (ORO) are collections of fulltext reference books. 

Browse the DT section of the Reference books on the main floor and the book collection on the second floor.

Finding Books

  • MUSCAT  
      
    Musselman Library's catalog. Every book in MUSCAT is in Musselman Library. Remember to start with a keyword search and then explore subject headings to narrow and refine your search.
  • WorldCat  
      
    ...like MUSCAT for the whole world. Use this if you think a book exists, but you don't know exactly what it is. It's easy to request via ILL (Interlibrary Loan) from WorldCat!
 

Searching for Primary Sources

Some primary source material can be found by searching MUSCAT , the library catalog, using a keyword or subject search. These search techniques work in any library catalog, including WorldCat.org.  Additional primary sources may be found in Gettysburg College's Special Collections.

  • First try a KEYWORD search which searches all words in the titles, authors, subjects, and notes of MUSCAT records. You can enter words in any order. This is the broadest, safest search. Take note of Subject Headings for promising titles.
  • Next try a SUBJECT search with the subject headings from the keyword search. This searches only the subject fields of MUSCAT records, and word order matters. Ask a librarian if you need help identifying the best subject heading(s) for your topic.
  • Finally try an AUTHOR search to find original writings of a person or documents published by a government or organization").

    Examine the subject headings carefully. The following subheadings will help you identify books and microfilm that contain primary sources:

--diaries
--correspondence
--case studies
--sources
--documents

--sermons
--early works to  1800
--early works to  1900

--photographs
--posters
--pictorial works
--caricatures and
cartoons
--personal narratives
--interviews
--anecdotes
--underground literature

Ex: Africa -- History -- Sources

Finding Articles

Use these databases to find articles on your topic from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. 

  • Historical Abstracts  
      
    Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Years of coverage: 1954-present.
  • Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature  
    Includes articles from over 400 English language and multi-lingual journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or cover the African continent. Free access provided by AfricaBib.org.
  • Humanities Abstracts  
      
    Provides citations to articles covering all humanities subject areas. Years of coverage: 1984-present.

 

Locate a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

After you have searched the library databases and identified an article of interest, there are several ways to obtain a copy of the article:

  • Click on the PDF or HTML link in the database; or, click on the "Gett It" button to link to the article in a different library database.


  • Search the Journal Locator for the title of the journal, magazine, or newspaper.  This is an A-Z list that will help you determine if Musseman Library owns or has access to a specific journal or magazine and what years are available.  It helps a whole lot if you have the full citation for the article!


  • Request articles through ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). If we don’t have the journal or magazine, we will try to get it for you from another library.   ILLiad can also be used to request books.  ILLiad requires a one-time registration.
 
 

How To Reach Me

Profile Image

Ronalee Ciocco

Musselman Library,
Main Floor 102
717-337-6994
rciocco@gettysburg.edu

 

Library of Congress Call Numbers

The History of Africa is in the DT section.  For a more detailed breakdown of the call numbers in the DTs, see the document below.

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?
Not
useful
   Extremely
useful
 

Who What When

This guide was created for Professor Essien, HIST 271, African History and Society to 1880s, Fall 2009, by Ronalee Ciocco.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait