Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

History 

Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.gettysburg.edu/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

HIST 426             Print Page
  
 

History 426: Pennsylvania's Indians

Your assignment is to complete a 30 page research paper on a topic related to the Indians who have been historically linked to Pennsylvania. This paper will combine research in primary and secondary sources, and should resemble an article that is worthy of inclusion in a scholarly historical journal.

Primary Source Databases

Use these databases to identify primary source documents that relate to your topic.  For additional resources, visit the Primary Sources Research Guide.

  • Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment  
      
    Provides full-text sources related to Native Americans and their cultures and environment, and their encounters with Europeans from 1601-2003. Includes over 100,000 pages of material and 1,482 authors.
  • Evans Digital Edition  
      
    Provides full-text access to documents about life in 17th and 18th century America.
  • American Periodical Series (APS)  
      
    Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes periodicals that commenced publication between 1740-1900.
  • Accessible Archives  
      
    Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals and Pennsylvania county histories (covers material from 1728-1900). The "Pennsylvania Gazette" will be of particular interest.
  • America's Historical Newspapers  
      
    Provides full-text images of over 1,000 early American newspapers published between 1690-1922, including titles from all 50 states.
  • Library of Congress: American Memory  
      
    Freely accessible web site of sources from the Library of Congress special collections that consist of primary source and archival materials relating to US history and culture.

Secondary Source Databases

Use these databases to identify secondary source material related to your topic.

  • America: History & Life  
      
    Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. This extensive database covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide from 1964-present.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Provides full-text articles from selected journals, including about 100 history journals. Article dates vary by journal, but please not that recent years are NOT included in JSTOR.
 

Organizing Your Resources

RefWorks is an awesome tool that allows you to gather all of your citations in one place, create a bibliography in seconds, AND create in-text citations in the citation style of your choosing!

Interested?  Click on the RefWorks icon to enter the database now.  Or click on the guide below for step-by-step instructions on how to get started.

 RefWorks

 
 

How To Reach Me

Profile Image 

Meggan Smith

Contact info:
Musselman Library - Main Floor 102
Reference & Instruction Librarian
717-337-7009
mdsmith@gettysburg.edu 

Finding Books

Don't forget that you can use MUSCAT and WorldCat to find books with primary source material.

  • MUSCAT  
      
    Hopefully by now you are all familiar with Musselman Library's catalog.
  • WorldCat  
      
    WorldCat makes it easy to request books via Interlibrary Loan!
 

Research Feedback

Which database did you find most useful in your research?

 

Who What When

This guide was created for Professor Shannon's HIST 426, Pennsylvania's Indians, Fall 2009, by Meggan Smith.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait