Newspapers on microfilm ~ Gettysburg in History and Memory
Musselman Library has an extensive collection of Civil War era newspapers, all of which are arranged alphabetically in the microfilm cabinets at the back of the ground floor. Indexes are NOT available for most of these papers so allow yourself time to browse!
Local Newspapers - Published in Gettysburg and Lancaster, PA
- Adams Sentinel, 1800-1867
- The Compiler, 1857-1868
- Star & Sentinel, 1867-1881
- Early Miscellaneous Papers, 1830-1854
- Lancaster Evening Express, 1859-1865 (Lancaster, PA)
Northern Newspapers
- Boston Evening Transcript, 1858-1865 (Boston, MA)
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-1879 (Chicago, IL)
- The Christian Recorder, 1854-1902 (Philadelphia, PA)
- Cleveland Plain Dealer, 1860-1865 (Cleveland, OH)
- Congressional Globe, 1840-1873, and Congressional Record 1873-1888 (Washington D.C.) -- includes Congressional speeches and debates, and presidential messages.
- Hartford Courant, 1860-1865 (Hartford, CT)
- National Era, 1847-1860 (Washington D.C.) -- an anti-slavery paper published by Dr. Gamaliel Bailey, an abolitionist. Also in Accessible Archives online.
- New York Herald, 1858-1865 (New York City, NY) Also in Accessible Archives online.
- New York Times, 1851-present (New York City, NY). Online in Historical Newspapers database.
- New York Tribune, 1857-1866 (New York City, NY)
- Philadelphia Daily Evening Bulletin, 1857-1866 (Philadelphia, PA)
- Philadelphia Inquirer, 1861-1865 (Philadelphia, PA). Online in America's Historical Newspapers.
- Philadelphia Public Ledger, 1857-1866 (Philadelphia, PA)
Southern Newspapers
- Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1889 (Atlanta, GA)
- Charleston Mercury, 1846-1868 (Charleston, SC) – Also in Accessible Archives online, covering 1860-1865.
- New Orleans Times Picayune, 1857-1866 (New Orleans, LA)
- Richmond Dispatch, 1858-1866 (Richmond, VA)
- Southwest Virginia Newspapers, 1856-1899 (includes 11 newspapers)
Primary sources online: Newspapers and other documents
Begin by clicking on Find Articles (Databases) from the library homepage at http://www.gettysburg.edu/library/; then select History from the “Choose a subject” menu.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Features cover-to-cover reproductions of over 1,000 American newspapers published between 1690 – 1922. - Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text access to the New York Times (1851-2001), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1987), and the Washington Post (1877-1988). - Pennsylvania Civil War Newspapers
Contains images of selected Pennsylvania newspapers published during the pivotal years before, during, and after the U.S. Civil War. - 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to primary source United States newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images. - Accessible Archives
provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, including The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury, Richmond Enquirer, The Christian Recorder, and The Liberator. - Times Digital Archive
Includes full images of The Times (of London) from 1785-1985. - HarpWeek
Provides page images from Harper's Weekly, a magazine published from 1857-1912. - American Periodical Series
Contains full articles concerning American social and political development from magazines, journals, and other periodicals published in the U.S. from 1741-1900. - American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Contains letters, diaries, and memoirs written from 1861-1865. - American Memory Project: Library of Congress
Includes the Abraham Lincoln Papers at http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/alhtml/malhome.html and other maps, documents, and photographs related to Gettysburg and the Civil War. - The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln
Provides free online access to this multivolume set, from the Abraham Lincoln Association. The paper version is available in the library's book collection and Special Collections at E457.91 1953.
Special Collections
Special Collections and Archives at Musselman Library holds paper and electronic documents that could be useful for your projects.
- Civil War Sources Search manusripts and other materials related to the Civil War.
- GettDigital View digitized material from Special Collections on the web.
Secondary source articles
To locate secondary source journal articles on the Civil War, try searching the databases below.
- America: History and Life
Provides citations to secondary source articles on American and Canadian history in approximately 2,000 journals and magazines. Articles date from 1964 - present. - JSTOR
An archive that includes 75 history journals, usually starting with the first volume. Only provides access to older issues; search other databases to find articles published within the past 3-5 years. - Humanities Abstracts
Provides citations to articles on all humanities subjects published from 1984-present.
Books in our library & elsewhere
- MUSCAT
Musselman Library’s online catalog. Use a keyword search to get started. As you search, keep track of relevant MUSCAT subject headings. For example: Gettysburg (Pa.), Battle of, 1863 - WorldCat
Contains records of books and other materials in libraries worldwide. Use it to identify books and other materials that our library doesn’t have. Then, request books via Interlibrary Loan. - EZ-Borrow
A shared catalog for a large consortium of college and university libraries in Pennsylvania. This allows you to request books from anywhere in the state! Most useful when searching for a specific book rather than on a broad topic. - Google Book Search
Google’s project to provide page images of books from some of the worlds largest libraries. This work-in-progress allows you to view many books that are no longer copyright protected, and makes it possible to search the text of more recent titles.
Contact us
Meggan Smith
Contact info:
Musselman Library
Main Floor 102
Reference & Instruction Librarian
717-337-7009
mdsmith@gettysburg.edu

Jessica Howard
Contact info:
Musselman Library
Main Floor 102
Reference & Web Services Librarian
717-337-6627
jhoward@gettysburg.edu
Get the article
There are several ways to obtain the text of an article:
Click on the PDF or HTML article link in the database; or, click on the "Gett It" button to get the article from another database.
Search the Journal Locator, an A-Z list that will help you determine if Musseman Library has access to a specific journal or magazine and what years are available.
Request articles through ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan). If we don’t have the journal or magazine, we can get it for you from another library. Can also be used to request books.
What do you think?
About this guide
This guide was created for professor Norman's Gettysburg in History and Memory course (HIST 347) in Fall 2009 by Meggan Smith and Jessica Howard.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait