Last Updated: May 3, 2012
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.
- Oxford Reference
Combines reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the resources of Oxford Companions. Quick and easy retrieval of subject reference entries, bilingual dictionaries, English dictionaries, and quotations & proverbs. 5 users.
These are just a few of our largest online reference sources. If you have questions about online information for a discipline or topic, please ask! Our online reference collection changes constantly.
- CQ Researcher
Provides reports of research and analysis on issues in the news. Coverage includes health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. 1991 – present.
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
Covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It is interdisciplinary in scope and represents different schools and approaches.
- Encyclopedia Islamica
A projected 16-volume publication, consisting of an abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, it offers the western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilisation, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.
- Encyclopedia of Islam, Second Edition
Provides the authoritative source on the religion of Islam, and also on the believers and the countries in which they live. 3 users.
- Grove Art Online (now part of Oxford Art Online)
Provides full-text access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Contents include encyclopedia-length articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings, extensive image links, and more. (Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.)
- Grove Music Online (now part of Oxford Music Online)
Provides full-text access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Provides full-text access to the Oxford English Dictionary. The OED is regarded as the most authoritative and comprehensive English language dictionary in the world. It contains close to 300,000 entries and over 2.5 million illustrative quotations.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Provides over 3,000 reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines about Islam.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Provides searchable, comprehensive bilingual dictionaries in Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online
Full-text, online version of the Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
Use the search box below to find all encyclopedias and dictionaries available in Musselman Library. This search will locate both online and print materials. You can find the print books on the main floor in the library's Reference Collection.