Quick History Search
This box searches these core History databases:
- America: History & Life Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
- Historical Abstracts Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Years of coverage: 1954-present.
- JSTOR Provides access to full-text journals articles across all disciplines. Years of coverage: varies by journal title.
- MUSCAT
- Academic Search Premier Provides citations and some full-text for articles in journals and magazines, covering social sciences, humanities, education, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and more.
Other History Research Tools
- Encyclopedia of Islam Provides the authoritative source on the religion of Islam, and also on the believers and the countries in which they live. 3 users.
- History Resource Center: World Contains reference works, full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, an array of primary sources, images, maps and charts which provide geographic and chronologic research materials for the study of world history.
- Humanities Abstracts Provides citations to articles covering all humanities subject areas. Years of coverage: 1984-present.
- Humanities E-Books Provides access to a digital collection of 1,700 full-text books of major importance in the humanities. 300 new titles are added every year.
- WorldCat
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods). Use to locate items that Musselman Library does not own.
GettDigital
Primary Sources
- 19th Century US Newspapers Provides access to approximately 28 million articles of from 19th Century United States newspapers. Content includes full-text articles, advertisements, and illustrations from a wide range of urban and rural American newspapers.
- Accessible Archives Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals, and Pennsylvania county histories, covering material from 1728-1900.
- America's Historical Newsapers Features full-text images of over 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Provides full-text of letters, diaries, and memoirs covering 1861-1865.
- American History in Video Provides access to historical events through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- American Periodical Series (APS) Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes periodicals that commenced publication between 1740-1900.
- American State Papers 1789 - 1838 Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment Provides full text sources of Native Americans and their cultures and environment, and their encounters with Europeans. 1601 – 2003.
- Evans Digital Edition Provides full text resources about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, etc. 1639 – 1800.
- Harpweek Provides full-text access to Harper's Weekly, America’s leading 19th Century illustrated newspaper. Years of coverage: 1857-1912.
- Historical Newspapers - Chadwyck-Healey Provides access to the New York Times (citations only from 1851-1922) and London Times (full-text available from 1785-1870, and citations only from 1871-1980).
- Historical Newspapers - ProQuest Provides full-text articles from the New York Times (1851-2004), Wall Street Journal (1889-1990), Washington Post (1877-1991), The Guardian (1791-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
- Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters and Ephemera Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow researchers to experience the events of the war that tested and defined America.
- In the First Person Provides full-text access to English-language primary source material including diaries, letters, personal narratives, memoirs, and more. Years of coverage: 1550-present.
- Niles' Register Provides citations to and some full-text articles from the Niles' Register (also known as The Weekly Register, Niles’ Weekly Register, and Niles’ National Register), published 1811-1849. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories Provides full-text access to personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Materials date from 1784 – 2004.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries Provides full-text access to letters and diaries of over 1,325 North American women. Materials date from colonial times - 1950.
- The Avalon Project
- Times Digital Archive Provides full-text, full-images of the London Times including articles, editorials and commentary, advertisements, and illustrations/photographs, 1785-1985.
- United States Serial Set 1870 - 1975 Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.
Subject Guide |
Karen DrickamerDescription
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait