The Musselman Library catalog.
- Academic Search Premier
Provides citations and some full-text for articles in journals and magazines, covering social sciences, humanities, education, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and more.
- Accessible Archives
Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals, and Pennsylvania county histories, covering material from 1728-1900.
- African American Music Reference
Provides access to publications on blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression from a variety of sources.
- Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index (API) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and coverage begins in 1991.
- America: History & Life
Provides citations to articles on American and Canadian history. Articles date from 1964 – present. Includes some full-text links.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Provides full-text of letters, diaries, and memoirs covering 1861-1865.
- American History in Video
Provides access to historical events through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- American National Biography
Offers biographies of more than 17,400 men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes only persons who are deceased.
- American Song*
A historical database of American music recordings. Included in the database are songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. (Part of Music Online)
- Anthropology Plus
A compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases. Covers the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries.
- Art Abstracts
Cites articles, exhibitions, film reviews, and art-related material published from 1984-present. Subject coverage includes art, architecture, design, photography, art criticism, video, and film.
- Art Index Retrospective
Cites articles, exhibitions, film reviews, and art-related material published from 1929-1984.
A digital collection of art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. Includes unique software tools to enable active use of the collections.
Provides open access to 688,075 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Operated by Cornell University.
- ATLA Religion Database
Provides citations and many full articles in religion & theology dating from 1949-present. Also includes book reviews and essay collections.
- Biological Abstracts
Provides citations and some full text articles to the literature of the life sciences including research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology, ecology, agriculture, and veterinary science. 10 users
- Black Thought and Culture
Contains full-text of books, essays, articles, speeches, and, interviews written by leaders within the black community.
- Book Review Digest Plus
Provides citations to and excerpts from book reviews published in journals from 1983-present. (1 user)
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Provides the full-text of British and Irish women's diaries and correspondence dating from 1500-1900.
- Business Source Elite
Provides citations to and many full text articles about business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting from 1985-present.
- Classical Music Reference Library
Provides reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database.
- Classical Scores Library
Provides 1,746 scores (90,610 pages) of classical scores.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to articles in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
- Contemporary World Music*
Provides online access to genres such as reggae, worldbeat, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This release includes 670 albums, equaling 9,116 tracks. (Part of Music Online)
- The Cupola: Scholarship at Gettysburg College
An open-access collection of scholarly and creative works produced by faculty, students, and other members of the Gettysburg College community. Here you’ll find articles, working papers, conference presentations, book chapters, and other professional contributions authored by faculty. The Cupola also highlights the best in student work.
- Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Provides full text sources of Native Americans and their cultures and environment, and their encounters with Europeans. 1601 – 2003.
Provides citations and abstracts of journals, books and dissertations in economics literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature, EconLit covers both economic theory and application. 1969 – present.
- Education Abstracts
Provides citations and abstracts to articles from more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks. Subjects covered include adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and more. 1983-present
- Environment Complete
Provides coverage of 1,700 titles going back to the 1940s in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine science, geography, pollution & waste management, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains abstracts and some full text of journal articles, reports, curricular materials, books, conference papers, etc.on education research and practice. 1948 – present.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Provides citations and abstracts for more than 350 Film and TV literature publications (with selected coverage of 300 more). It is designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers. 1918 – present.
- Films on Demand: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection
Provides streaming videos from Films Media Group in the Humanities and Social Sciences Collection.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Provides material and entries devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. For each region, it also provides a survey of musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.
- Gender Studies
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia from 1972 to present.
Produced by the American Geological Institute, this database provides citations about geoscience from journals, books, maps, conference papers, and more. Years of coverage: 1785 – present.
Provides citations to articles about human impact on the environmental from scholarly journals, government publications and general interest titles. This is a free subset of the Environment Complete database.
- Grove Art Online (now part of Oxford Art Online)
Provides full-text access to Grove Art Online, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Contents include encyclopedia-length articles, thumbnail art images and line drawings, extensive image links, and more. (Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.)
- Grove Music Online (now part of Oxford Music Online)
Provides full-text access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
- Health Source
Provides citations to and some full-text articles about nursing and many medical disciplines. Years of coverage: 1975-present.
- Historical Abstracts
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Years of coverage: 1954-present.
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Provides access to citations of articles from journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1907 to 1984.
- Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters and Ephemera
Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow researchers to experience the events of the war that tested and defined America.
- In the First Person
Provides full-text access to English-language primary source material including diaries, letters, personal narratives, memoirs, and more. Years of coverage: 1550-present.
- Index Islamicus
Provides citations to literature on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Years of coverage: 1906-present.
- International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full-text
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. It contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
- Jazz Music Library*
Jazz Music Library will be the largest and most comprehensive collection of jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. (Part of Music Online)
Provides access to full-text journals articles across all disciplines. Years of coverage: varies by journal title.
- LGBT Life
Provides full text for more than 100 of the most important and historically significant LGBT periodicals as well as more than 110 full-text monographs and books.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Provides citations to articles on library and information science. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, information retrieval, information management, and more. Years of coverage: mid-1960’s – present.
Provides citations to health and biology articles from over 4,800 biomedical journals.
- MLA Bibliography
Provides citations to articles, books, working papers, and more on English and foreign language literature, language, and folklore. Articles date from 1926-present.
- Music Index
Provides citations to articles and more covering all areas of classical and popular world of music (international focus). Articles date from 1979-present.
- Newspaper Source
Provides citations to and some full-text articles from over 400 U.S. newspapers and international newspapers. Database also includes full-text television and radio newswires. Citations date from 1990-present.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provides full-text access to personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Materials date from 1784 – 2004.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Provides full-text access to letters and diaries of over 1,325 North American women. Materials date from colonial times - 1950.
- Philosopher's Index
Provides citations to philosophy articles from 1940-present. Covers ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, and the philosophy of mind, as well as the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, language and education. 4 users.
Provides citations to psychology articles, conference proceedings, books, and more from 1872-present. Worldwide coverage includes references and abstracts to journals in over 24 languages, and to dissertations, reports and books in over 35 languages.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Provides citations and abstracts to music articles (international focus) from 1969-present, with records in over 200 languages.
Provides full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals published by Elsevier Science, 1993-present (years vary by journal title). Topics include Physical Sciences & Engineering, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Social Sciences & Humanities.
- Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines, 1984-present.