Political Science Databases
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to international politics and political analysis, 1975-present.
- CQ Electronic LibraryProvides access to periodicals (CQ Weekly & CQ Researcher), Databases (CQ Congress, CQ Public Affairs, CQ Supreme Court & CQ Voting & Elections) and online editions of selected CQ publications.
- PAIS InternationalProvides citations to political science articles, government documents, books, and more in the areas of public affairs, public policy, social issues, and international relations. Citations date from 1915-present.
- Academic Search PremierProvides citations and some full-text for articles in journals and magazines, covering social sciences, humanities, education, arts, literature, ethnic studies, and more.
- MUSCAT
Comments (0)
Additional Political Science Research Tools
- CQ Electronic LibraryProvides access to periodicals (CQ Weekly & CQ Researcher), Databases (CQ Congress, CQ Public Affairs, CQ Supreme Court & CQ Voting & Elections) and online editions of selected CQ publications.
- CQ Political Reference SuiteProvides access to many CQ reference books covering the presidency, supreme court, congress, constitution and elections. Also includes the current Political Handbook of the World and Historic Documents 1972 – 2005.
- Facts.comProvides access to the Facts on File databases: World News Digest, Issues and Controversies and Today's Science.
- JSTORProvides access to full-text journals articles across all disciplines. Years of coverage: varies by journal title.
- LexisNexis Legal ResearchProvides full-text access to legal news and law reviews, case law, codes and regulations, international legal materials, patent research and career information. Years of coverage: varies by title.
- WorldCatProvides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods). Use to locate items that Musselman Library does not own.
United States Research Tools
For additional resources, refer to the Law and Legislation guide under "Related Subjects."
- American FactFinderSummary and detailed data on population and housing from the 1990 and 2000 Decennial Census, as well as data from the 1997 Economic Census, and the American Community Survey. Retrieval options include tables, data sets, and maps.
- American National Election StudiesProvides data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
- American PresidentGateway to scholarly information about American presidents (from UVa). Includes biographical information, images, speeches, interviews and outside links.
- Center for American Women and Politics (Rutgers)The leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation.
- CQ WeeklyProvides full text articles from Congressional Quarterly Weekly, which is known as the pre-eminent resource for Congress-watchers who need nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill. 1983 – present.
- FactCheck.OrgA nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
- Follow the Money: National Institute of Money in State PoliticsProvides a database of contributions to state office.
- Indian Affairs: US Department of the InteriorThe website of the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA). Includes information about BIA services, as well as information about Native Americans, including how to trace and verify Indian ancestry.
- Living Room Candidate: Presidential Campaign Commercials, 1952-2008Provides a collection of presidential television ads from 1952 through the 2004 election.
- MAPLight.orgProvides data on bill texts and legislative voting records, supporting/opposing interests for each bill and campaign contribution data.
- National JournalOnline fulltext access to National Journal periodicals and resources. Provides coverage of current US government activity and policy, as well as technology and health care issues.
- Open SecretsProvides a nonpartisan guide to money’s influence on U.S. elections and public policy.
- Political Advertising Resource Center (PARC)Nonpartisan informational website that analyzes television advertisements in local, state, and national political campaigns.
- PolitiFactProduced by the St. Petersburg Times, whose staff examines statements by members of Congress, the president, cabinet secretaries, lobbyists, people who testify before Congress and others and rates the statement's accuracy
- ProQuest CongressionalProvides full-text access to Congressional publications including pending bills, laws, legislative histories, committee reports and documents, selected Congressional hearings, and more. Years of coverage: 1970-present.
- United States Serial Set 1817-1989Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.
- USASpending.govSingle searchable website on government spending.
- Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008Provides maps and visualizations of how Americans voted at the county level in presidential elections from 1840 - 2008. Provided by the University of Richmond.
International Research Tools
- World Bank Data: Global Development FinanceProvides statistical data for 136 countries that report public and publically guaranteed debt to the World Bank Debtor Reporting System, 1970-present (where data is available).
- World Bank Data: World Development IndicatorsProvides over 550 development indicators with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups, 1960-present (where data is available).
- Polity IVProvides coding for the authority characteristics of states in the world system for purposes of comparative, quantitative analysis.
- Europa World PlusProvides access to The Europa World Year Book and Regional Surveys of the World with regular online updates. Includes economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country and a listing of international organizations.
- US Department of StateBackground Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- Constitutions, Treaties and Official Declarations
- International Relations and Secruity Network (ISN)ISN, an online project of the Center for Security Studies at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, aggregates and produces reports analyzing global international relations and security issues.
- Political Database of the Americas
- Freedom House DataProvides a comparative assessment of global political rights and civil liberties.
- SIPRI DatabasesSIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Its databases include data on military expenditures, arms transfers and embargoes, peace operations and international relations.
- World Religion DatabaseContains detailed statistics on religious affiliation for every country of the world. Provides source material, including censuses and surveys, as well as best estimates for every religion to offer a picture of international religious demography. Estimates cover the period 1900 to 2050.
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
