Skip to main content

Musselman Library Services and Resources Fall 2020: Access to Library Resources

Access to Physical Resources

Library Building Access

Beginning Monday, August 17, 2020 Musselman Library will operate on ID card access to the building for all current students, faculty, and staff, and retirees. Check the Library Hours page for hours of operation. If you have trouble swiping in, contact the ID Card Office at 717-337-(x6326) or diningoffice@gettysburg.edu.


Musselman-To-Go

Library patrons with a College ID are able to request items from the library’s collection.  Faculty, staff, and on-campus students can pick up requested items in the library, contact-free. All remote students (including those living off campus in Gettysburg) should fill in your address in the comment section to have library books mailed to you remotely.  Here’s how to do it:

  1. Find the book or DVD you want using MUSCAT Plus.
  2. Sign in to your library account.
  3. Click the “Get physical item” button, then "Send Request".
  4. Wait to receive an email saying that the item(s) are ready for pick up.
  5. Use your College ID to swipe into the doors on the west (Stine Lake) side of the building.  If you have trouble swiping in, contact the ID Card Office at 717-337-(x6326) or diningoffice@gettysburg.edu.
  6. Your items will be on the blue Muss-To-Go shelves just beyond the Check Out desk.  The items on these shelves are in alphabetical order by patron last name. Items will already be checked out to you.  (NOTE:  For students, most books will be due on Dec. 11, 2020.  Books from the Browsing Room check out for 28 days, and DVDs check out for 7 days.)
  7. When you are ready to return the items, please use the book drop on the west (Stine Lake) side of the library.

 

Musselman Books for Off-Campus Students

Students studying off campus can submit requests for library-owned books or interlibrary loan books to be shipped to their home address. The books will be shipped to you with a pre-paid UPS return label. To request an individual chapter from a book, see the Requesting Musselman Library Book Chapters instructions.

  1. Find the book or DVD you want using MUSCAT Plus.
  2. Sign in to your library account and click "Get physical item."
  3. Click the “Send Request” button.
  4. You will receive an email confirmation when your requested items are checked out to you.
  5. Reply to the check-out email with your home address.
  6. The item will be shipped to you via UPS with a pre-paid return label. 

 

Course Reserves

Course reserves books will be an open collection this semester.  These books are on a wooden bookcase on the Main Level, and students can use them without library staff assistance.  Reserves books can be searched in MUSCAT Plus by clicking the Advanced Search button and choosing the Course Reserves limiter.  From there, you can search by course name, professor name, or book title.  Here's how the process works:

  1. Search MUSCAT Plus or browse the wooden Course Reserves bookcase to find your book.
  2. Use the book for 2 hours or less (library use only, scanners are available).
  3. Return the book to the table next to the Course Reserves wooden bookcase.
  4. Library staff will disinfect the book cover and reshelve the book.

Questions?  Email circ_email@gettysburg.edu 

This information was updated on 9/11/2020.

Access to Online Resources

Using Library Resources

  • From off campus, students, faculty, and staff members can access library materials (e.g., articles from e-journals, ebooks, streaming film) through MUSCAT Plus and library databases. When accessing library resources from off campus, users will be prompted to sign in using their campus credentials for authentication.
  • For 24/7 access to primary source materials from Special Collections and College Archives, please visit our GettDigital Collections web page.

Requesting Musselman Library Book Scans

Since some students will not have physical access to the library, MUSCAT Plus can be used to request chapter scans of books in the Musselman Library collection.  For copyright purposes we can't scan entire books, but scanning a chapter or two (up to 10% of the book) is acceptable.  If you are studying from home and would like to borrow a library-owned book on an interlibrary loan book, see the Access to Physical Resources instructions. 

Finding book chapter information

Many of the books in MUSCAT Plus have chapter information.  Search MUSCAT Plus, click on a book's title, and look for a Contents section:

You might also find book content information in worldcat.org (bottom of the book's page) or by using the "Look Inside" feature on amazon.com.

Requesting a book chapter scan

  1. Go to MUSCAT Plus.
  2. Click the Sign in button in the top-right corner.
  3. Click Gettysburg College Students, Faculty, and Staff and use your campus username and password to sign in.
  4. Search MUSCAT Plus for the item you want scanned.
  5. Click the item's title in the search results


     
  6. In the "Find this in the library" section, click Get a scan of a chapter or pages.


     
  7. Fill in as much information as possible and click SEND SCAN REQUEST

     
  8. Read the copyright notice.  If you need to adjust your request to meet the copyright restrictions, click the BACK button.  If your request meets the copyright restrictions, click I AGREE WITH THE TERMS.

     
  9. You will be notified via email when your scan is ready.

Accessing Materials Off-Campus: Tutorials

The following tutorials explain how to find and access different library resources from off campus.

Off-Campus Access

Duo Mobile Two-Factor Authentication

Faculty, staff, and administrators will have to use the Duo Mobile two-factor authentication (2FA) app for the following library services when accessing from off-campus:

  • MUSCAT Plus My Library Card
  • Wall Street Journal account
  • RefWorks (new version using the institutional login option)

For help with Duo 2FA, contact IT at 717-337-7000 or trouble@gettysburg.edu. Library staff are unable to assist with Duo issues. More information about Duo can be found at https://www.gettysburg.edu/offices/information-technology/how-do-i/2fa.

EZProxy Off-Campus Access

Access to the library's subscription databases from off-campus must be authenticated through the EZProxy server. If you are creating links for students to access library resources to include in Moodle, use the link generator to properly construct the links. For help with creating persistent links that will work off-campus, email ezproxy@gettysburg.edu.