Skip to main content

Gettysburg College Staff Library Guide: Library Services & Resources for Staff

Use this guide for quick links to your favorite library resources, services and information.

Musselman Library - We're Here For You!

library periodical browsing area

Make Musselman Library your lunchtime -- or anytime -- destination!

Visit the journal and newspaper browsing area located right inside the main entrance: stop, browse, and read.  If you don't have time to physically visit the library, you can still search and access many of the publications the library subscribes to online, such as Consumer Reports. Or view multiple magazines online via Flipster.  View newspapers online as well; we have the Gettysburgian from 1897 to 2010 and the Gettysburg Times from 1909 to 1 month ago.  Search for a journal or magazine title using our Journal Locator.

Library Hours

Browse the Stacks--Real or Virtual

Find out what's new in our Browsing Room Collection here: recently added books in the Browsing Room

Search for a book, CD or DVD using MUSCAT where records include a virtual shelf to browse!

Yellowstone ebook

Read this Traveler's Companion to Yellowstone (above) online from our e-book collection!

Musselman Library's Borrowing Policy makes it easy to read popular works over the weekend or all summer long!

Musselman houses a great collection, including books on general interest topics like travel, gardening and cooking!

Contact Me

Research Help Desk's picture
Research Help Desk
Contact:
Research Help Desk
Main Floor
Musselman Library
717.337.6600
Website

Download Popular Books to Your E-Reader

OverDrive

OverDrive provides access to a selection of popular fiction and nonfiction e-book titles.

It is compatible with Kindle, Nook, and other e-readers, as well as a variety of mobile and non-mobile devices.

Learn more about OverDrive at Gettysburg College.

For academic, research-oriented ebooks, browse Proquest Ebook Central, or do an advanced search in MUSCAT and limit your results to ebooks. Find out more about our e-book collections and how to download e-books to your own e-reading device or home computer.  This "Ask Us!" answer explains it all!

Read the NYTimes anywhere...

Gettysburg College employees have unlimited access to NYTimes.com content from 1981-present.

FIRST TIME USERS: While physically on campus and within the Gettysburg College network:

  1. Go to nytimes.com/grouppass.  
  2. Create a NYTimes.com account using your preferred email address.  If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your school email address, you may log in with those credentials.
  3. When you see START YOUR ACCESS, the expiration time and date of your pass will appear. 
  4. Go to NYTimes.com and enjoy your full access from any location! 

See the NYTimes Group Pass FAQ page for more details.

Hunting Down Your Family History?

Have you been planning for years to research your family's geneaology but didn't know where to start?  Try a search on Ancestry Library Edition. For some tips on how to navigate Ancestry, visit this guide.

Was your family in the military? Search military records on Fold3. Check out this guide for search tips and more information about Fold3.

Now is the time to document your family history.  Let us help by providing the resources you need.  Musselman Library also subscribes to newspaper databases that could help; view the many published sources here: News Sources.

Check It Out!

Did you know that an iPad is available for check out?

Visit the Checkout & Reserves Desk and explore with the iPad for 3 hours in Musselman Library.

Movies: DVDs and Streaming Video

The library has a DVD collection--check to see the latest additions here: Recent DVD Additions.

We also subscribe to video databases accessible on campus or remotely using your network login. This Films Online guide provides descriptions and links to online streaming resources.

All films from streaming platforms have been loaded into MUSCAT, the library's catalog, for your searching pleasure. To pick out the streaming option from your search results, look for the streaming video icon to the left of the entry and that the call number ends in "ev" (for electronic video). Once you've identified the streaming option and opened the film's catalog page, click "This film" to view!

 

Musselman Library
Campus Box 420
300 North Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325