Skip to main content

Musselman Library Services and Resources Fall 2020: For Faculty

Library Instruction

Scheduling for Fall 2020

Librarians are committed to supporting your students' development of information literacy. Due to the current pandemic, online instruction (synchronous or asynchronous) is strongly preferred for the fall 2020 semester.

If you believe that in-person instruction is essential to your course and session goals, please email Clinton Baugess or Kerri Odess-Harnish about arrangements for a session in your regularly scheduled classroom.

Requests for online instruction can be submitted through our online scheduling form.

Special Collections & College Archives Research Support

Scheduling for Fall 2020

To schedule an in person or virtual class visit to the Special Collections Reading Room for the 2020-2021 academic year or to plan an assignment using primary sources from our physical or GettDigital collections, please contact Carolyn Sautter, csautter@gettysburg.edu or 717-337-7002.

For research assistance, please submit your question through the Ask An Archivist form.

Course Reserves

Physical and Electronic Reserves for Fall 2020

Requesting course reserves will remain the same for hardcopy print, electronic print, and electronic media.  Request forms are located at the top of the Course Reserves for Faculty page.  Hardcopy media reserves will not be available this fall.

Hardcopy print reserves will be an open collection on the library's Main Level.  Students will still be able to search MUSCAT Plus for reserves items, but they won't need staff assistance to access them.  Books will be covered in plastic and disinfected after each use by library staff.

The Reserves Office (Library Lower Level, Room 020) will hold office hours at these times:

  • Mondays: 2-4 pm
  • Tuesdays: 2-4 pm
  • Thursdays: 2-4pm

Contact Lisa McNamee if you need to visit outside of these office hours.  Socially-distanced communication via email or phone is preferred.

Print Reserves Assistance:
Lisa McNamee
lmcnamee@gettysburg.edu
717-337-7025

Media Reserves Assistance:
Kevin Aughinbaugh
kaughinb@gettysburg.edu
717-337-6994

Scanning Course Materials

Scanning course materials necessary to support online classes

  • Faculty may need to provide online access to course materials already owned by students if they cannot access them due to an abrupt transition to online-only teaching.
  • We believe that providing a temporary, convenience copy under these circumstances constitutes a Fair Use of the Copyright Act*. We strongly recommend that faculty and staff follow our scanning recommendations.
  • Faculty and staff may scan course materials and post to Moodle, with Fair Use in mind.
    • The Fair Use evaluation checklist from Columbia University is a straightforward tool that can help determine Fair Use. 
    • See the library’s guide on Fair Use for more information. We are available to consult about Fair Use determinations.
  • "But what if I don't have a scanner?" We are hearing good reports from people using phone apps like CamScanner and Genius Scan. You can also scan with Google Drive (Android only).
    • Use your smartphone to take pictures of your texts and the app will convert them to pdf.
    • Consider dividing up the work of scanning among students who have clean copies of the book.
*For more context, see COVID-19, Copyright, & Library Superpowers (Part I) by Kyle Courtney, Copyright Advisor and Program Manager at Harvard University

 

This information was updated 7/28/2020. 

Scanning Recommendations

Scanning Recommendations

  • All scanned material must be searchable, so scan with OCR (optical character recognition).
    • Non-OCR scans are basically pictures of a whole page. OCR is necessary for individuals who require assistance from screen readers, but searchable documents are good for everyone.
    • Scanners with OCR capability are located in every department office, where faculty and administrative assistants are encouraged to scan course materials if needed. Please contact IT if you need assistance with these machines.
    • Additionally, there are four public scanners (with OCR) located in Musselman Library. We recommend bringing a USB drive on which to save your file, as the files may be too large to transmit via email.
  • Include a cover page on all scans. It contains the following disclaimer: “This material is intended for temporary, personal use of enrolled Gettysburg College students only during the 2020 COVID-19 pandemic. Users are not permitted to upload or share materials beyond the class community.”
  • Only scan the portion of the work that is needed to support teaching in a given week. For example, if students have already read chapters 1-5 and are now expected to read chapters 6-10, only scan and upload chapters 6-10.
  • Only share readings via Moodle, which is restricted to enrolled students. Limit the time that these scans are available in Moodle.
  • See our video on uploading content to Moodle and limiting access by date.