Research Guides: First Year Seminars: FYS 123-3 Work, Society, & Self

Searching at Musselman Library

MUSCAT Plus
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Databases - A-Z
An A-Z listing of all library databases by name or type of database (newspapers, images, etc.)
Research Guides
Research guides to databases and other resources for each discipline at Gettysburg College

Scholarly Encyclopedias

Gale Reference eBooks
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.
Sage Knowledge
A comprehensive source for researchers in the social sciences. E-content includes scholarly books, reference books, handbooks, major works, and professional development titles, 1995 to the present.

Find Scholarly Articles

Business Source Elite
Provides citations to and many full text articles about business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting from 1985-present.
JSTOR
Provides access to full-text journals articles across all disciplines. Years of coverage: varies by journal title.
ProQuest Central
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Search Strategies

Start with a keyword search which searches book titles, authors, subject headings, book descriptions, etc.

Get fancy with AND and OR to broaden or narrow your search.
You can search for specific phrases by using quotation marks.
An asterisk* will let you search for the root of a word and any variation after the asterisk (educat* = education, educate, educated, educating)

Multiple copies of the APA Manual (7th ed.) are available at the Research Help Desk and in the Book Collection.

Additional instructions are available online:

See the citation guide for more guidance.