Skip to main content

Special Collections - American History Sources: Help!

FAQs

Where is Special Collections located?

Special Collections is on the fourth floor of Musselman Library.

When can I visit Special Collections?

You can schedule an appointment for our Special Collections Reading Room is open.

During the school year the Special Collections Reading Room research hours are:

Monday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Tuesday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm; plus 6:00pm – 9:00pm

Wednesday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm; plus 6:00pm – 9:00pm

Thursday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm

Friday – 1:00pm – 5:00pm

What is the Reading Room?

The Reading Room is the section of Special Collections open for research. The Reading Room has tables and chairs for researchers, as well as some reference materials. Special Collections materials are not permitted to leave the Reading Room.

What are the closed stacks?

Most of Special Collections’ holdings are kept in the closed stacks. Unlike the stacks in the library, you are not permitted to lbrowse materials on your own in the Special Collections closed stacks. Instead, you can request an item from the staff on duty, who will then retrieve the item for you.

What should I bring with me?

Bring a pencil and your laptop. Coats, purses, book bags, briefcases, binders, scanner etc. are not permitted in the Reading Room. Lockers are provided to store these items.

How do I cite materials from Special Collections?

In citing these materials, please cite the full name of the collection and of Special Collections. Example: The Joe Brown Collections, Special Collections/Musselman Library, Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania. For additional examples, see our Citation Guide.

Can Special Collections items be found in MUSCAT Plus?

Many publishes materials in Special Collections (such as books and publications) are in MUSCAT Plus, so it is a good place to start. Special Collections is home to many materials that aren’t published (for instance, collections of letters, photographs, oral histories). Some brief descriptions of these items can be found on our Special Collections website and in MUSCAT Plus. You may also want to consult the subject guides or ask an archivist for assistance.

What if I haven't finished what I'm working on when Special Collections closes?

Simple talk with our staff to schedule your next visit. Our materials cannot leave the Special Collections Reading Room; but, some have been digitized. Please check our GettDigital Collections for your item in case it is available there.

Special Collections Rules of Use