Skip to Main Content

Special Collections - Gettysburg College History: College Histories

College Histories

A Salutary Influence: Gettysburg College, 1832 - 1985, by Charles Glatfelter is the most current and comprehensive history of Gettysburg College.

Additional histories:

  • Gettysburg College, by Michael J. Birkner, in collaboration with David Crumplar
  • A History of Gettysburg College Campus, by Gregory Landry (unpublished)
  • A History of Gettysburg College, 1832 - 1932, by Samuel G. Hefelbower
  • History of the Gettysburg Theological Seminary, by Abdel R. Wentz
  • The Pennsylvania College Book, 1832 - 1882, E.S. Breidenbaugh, ed.
  • To Waken Fond Memory: Moments in the History of Gettysburg College, by Anna Jane Moyer
  • Yonder Beautiful and Stately College Edifice: A History of Pennsylvania Hall (Old Dorm) by Charles H. Glatfelter

History Series, 1973 - 1982:

  • "Engineering at Gettysburg College," by William C. Darrah
  • "Gettysburg College and the Lutheran Connection," by Harold A. Dunkelberger
  • "Intercollegiate Athletics at Gettysburg College, 1879 - 1975," by Robert L. Bloom
  • "The Way We Were: A History of Student Life at Gettysburg College," by Anna Jane Moyer
  • "Everyone Sang: A History of the Gettysburg College Choir, 1935 - 1970," by Barbara Platt

Copies of these texts are available in the ready reference section of the Reading Room.

GettDigital

GettDigital Collections

An online portal to the digital collections created by Special Collections and College Archives, Gettysburg College. These digital images, documents, and artifacts are a sampling of items housed in Special Collections & College Archives, Musselman Library, 4th Floor. 

Digital materials from Special Collections and College Archives, Musselman Library, Gettysburg College are also accessible through JSTOR Forum and the Internet Archive. Gettysburg College archived web content is also available through ARCHIVE-IT.