Research Guides: Statistics: United States

Demographics, Social, & Cultural Statistics

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Access tables, maps, and datasets from the US Census Bureau. The earliest data begins with the 2000 Census. Includes data that was included in the American FactFinder.

Data.gov
Provides access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data is available through the raw data catalog, the tool catalog and the geodata catalog.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the world's largest archive of digital social science data. Years of coverage: varies by dataset.
Mapping the Measure of America This link opens in a new window
Shows the well-being of America based on health, education, and income factors. Displays data in interactive maps. Created by the Human Development Project.

National Archive of Data on Arts & Culture (NADAC)
National Center for Education Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Provides access to US data from 1790 to present, including state and county census data (1790 to present), tract data (1910 to present), census data for all geographic summary levels from 1970 to present, and more.
State of the Cities Data Systems
Provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2013- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Begins with the 2013 edition.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878 - 2012 This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Includes 1878 - 2012 editions.

United States Census Bureau
Use top menu to browse by topic, explore data, view resources, access surveys/programs, and/or find a code.
USA Counties
Statistical data from US agencies by county, some back to the early twentieth century.

USA.gov This link opens in a new window
Provides a directory for all U.S. federal government agencies and services, providing statistics, documents and legislative material.

U.S. Census of Population and Housing
Access reports of Census of Population and Housing from 1790 to the present in PDF format.
U.S. County and City Data Book
United States County and City Data Book - access individual sections/chapters or download entire publication.

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Access tables, maps, and datasets from the US Census Bureau. The earliest data begins with the 2000 Census. Includes data that was included in the American FactFinder.

Bureau of Economic Analysis
Provides access to economic statistics that provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics by subject. Subjects include: inflation & prices, employment, unemployment, pay & benefits, spending, productivity, workplace injuries, employment projections and more.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Economy at a Glance
Provides data at the national, regional, state, and metropolitan area levels. The data is assembled from different surveys and programs conducted by BLS.
Data USA
A comprehensive visualization of U.S. public data from MIT Media Lab.
FRED II (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
Provides access to a database of 20,234 U.S. economic time series from the Fereral Reserve.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the world's largest archive of digital social science data. Years of coverage: varies by dataset.

State of Working America
The State of Working America, an ongoing analysis published since 1988 by the Economic Policy Institute, includes a wide variety of data on family incomes, wages, jobs, unemployment, wealth, and poverty that allow for a clear, unbiased understanding of the economy’s effect on the living standards of working Americans.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2013- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Begins with the 2013 edition.
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878 - 2012 This link opens in a new window
Provides statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Includes 1878 - 2012 editions.

USA Counties
Statistical data from US agencies by county, some back to the early twentieth century.

USASpending.gov This link opens in a new window
Single searchable website on government spending.

One Hundred Years of Economic Statistics
HC106.L68 1989

Historical Statistics of the US This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 37,000 data series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations from the earliest times to the present.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the world's largest archive of digital social science data. Years of coverage: varies by dataset.