Civil War Information Topic Guide: Local Libraries

Adams County Historical Society

Schmucker Hall
Lutheran Theological Seminary
111 N. West Confederate Ave.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 334-4723
Hours: W & Sa, 9am-5pm

A wide range of information about and related to Adams County history, including tax records, deed books, and the history of families, buildings, and businesses. Has an Adams Co. museum.

Adams County Law Library

Adams County Courthouse
111 Baltimore St.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 334-6781 x336
Hours: M-F, 8am-4:30pm

Extensive law collection, including US, PA, borough, and township laws and codes. Good resource if you already know how to do legal research.

Adams County Library System (public library)

140 Baltimore St.
Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 334-5716
Hours: M-Th, 9am - 8:30pm ; F and Sa, 9am to 5pm; Su, 1pm - 5pm
http://www.adamslibrary.org/

General collection, but strong on business-startup resources, popular fiction in English and Spanish, literacy resources, and cookbooks. In addition, ACLS has a subscription to the Ancestry.com database.

Dickinson College, Waidner & Spahr Library

Dickinson College
P.O. Box 1773
Carlisle, PA 17013-2896
(717) 245-1602
Hours: vary by academic calendar
https://www.dickinson.edu/library

Collection comparable to Musselman library. In addition, is a Federal Document Repository, receiving about 18% of US publications.

Dickinson School of Law, H. Laddie Montague Jr. Law Library

The Dickinson School of Law of The Pennsylvania State University
150 South College Street
Carlisle, PA 17013
(717) 243-4611
Open to the public: M-Th, 8am - 9pm; F, 8am - 5pm
https://dickinsonlaw.psu.edu/law-library

Large law collection, including US and Pennsylvania laws and law journals. Has reference help available.

Eisenhower National Historic Site

Eisenhower National Historic Site
97 Taneytown Road
Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 338-9114
Hours: 4/1-10/31: Daily, 9am - 4 pm; 11/1-3/31, W-Su, 9 am - 4pm
http://www.nps.gov/eise/

Gettysburg National Military Park Library

Gettysburg National Military Park
97 Taneytown Road
Gettysburg, PA 17325
Attn. Library
(717) 334-1124, ext. 428
Hours: M-F, 8am - 4:30pm
https://www.nps.gov/gett/learn/historyculture/research-center.htm

Collects items related to the Gettysburg campaign, the Gettysburg Military Park, and the Cyclorama, including primary sources.

Harrisburg Area Community College (HACC), Gettysburg Campus

Gettysburg Campus Library
705 Old Harrisburg Road, Suite 2
Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 337-3855
Hours: M - Th, 8am-9pm; F, 8am-4pm; Sa 9:30am-12:30pm
Call for Summer hours
https://libguides.hacc.edu/home/gettysburg

Access to selected article databases. Has Choices, a cd-rom that gives a quiz about personal interests and recommends careers.

Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg, Wentz Library

66 Seminary Ridge
Gettysburg, PA 17325
(717) 338-3014
Hours: M-F, 8:30am-5pm; Su-Th, 6pm-10pm; Sa, 9am-12pm, 1pm-4:30pm. Summer Hours: M-F 8:30am-4:30pm
https://unitedlutheranseminary.edu/about/departments-offices/library/

Covers religious topics in-depth, including theology and biblical commentaries. Has over 600 journals, though not all are accessible through their online catalog.

U.S. Army Military History Institute

22 Ashburn Drive, Carlisle Barracks
Carlisle, PA 17013-5008
(717) 245-3611
Hours: M, Tu, Th, & F, 7:45am to 4:15pm; W, 11:30am to 4:15pm
https://ahec.armywarcollege.edu/

Exhaustive resources on the history of the U.S. Army, including military records. Has growing collection of military history documents online.

 

 

---