Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).
Provides full text for more than 200 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 310 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
LexisNexis is a good place to start if you want to check a bunch of popular news sources at once or start doing some basic legal searches. You might be better off with one of the other databases if you’re more interested in finding a range of original scholarly research though.
Coverage: 1918 - 2015
Online archive of 15 major 20th/21st-century consumer magazines including Newsweek. Covers the history of politics, current events, public policy, and international relations. The earliest content dates from 1918 and continues to recent times. Issues are scanned from cover to cover in color.
Flipster makes it easy to catch up on news and entertainment. Browse available magazines in the library's pilot collection on your computer, tablet or phone. Search within a magazine when reading online. Download Flipster Apps for reading offline.
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
Provides access to a collection of 400 19th Century United States newspapers. Content includes full-text articles, advertisements, and illustrations from a wide range of urban and rural American newspapers.
This collection of African American newspapers contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
Access news articles from the daily Washington Post. Journalists report on politics, business, world national news, and more. Coverage goes back on a rolling 15 year basis. NOTE: Account creation is not necessary. The library provides site/remote access but ads will appear alongside news articles.
Provides access to a growing collection of more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs. Current content focuses on regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. Access Local news, public affairs programs, local history, and programs covering education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and filmmaking on a local level.
The core collection of the Archive consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News from 1968 to present. Also includes special news reports and material from other networks. Users may search the Archive or browse by date or topic.