Skip to Main Content

First Year Seminars: FYS 170-3 The Sixties

Life Magazine in Special Collections

Special Collections Reading Room Hours
M, Th, F : 1 - 5 PM
T, W : 1 - 5 and 6 - 9 PM

(Musselman Library, 4th floor)

Special Collections has the print Life volumes on carts for you to use within their reading room.

If needed, they may be able to scan the page for you. You can also grab the page image from the Google Life Magazine Archive. For your search, note the headline, issue, date, and page range.

 

 

Indexed in Readers' Guide Retrospective

Life magazine is also indexed (meaning you can search for specific articles by keyword, author, title, or subject) in Readers' Guide Retrospective. (This link to the database will limit your results to only articles from Life.)

Searching at Musselman Library

Finding Background Information

Scholarly Encyclopedias

Gale Virtual Reference Library logo

Secondary Sources - Books

MUSCAT Plus will give you access to the books that we have (both in print and as ebooks) in our collection here.

For both library catalogs and article databases, start with your keywords: such as: 1960s counterculture or Westmoreland biography

Then, use the subjects. They'll save you time and let you find things you wouldn't have anticipated with keywords. Some useful subjects may be:

Civil rights movements -- United States -- History 20th century

Counterculture -- United States -- History -- 20th century

King, Martin Luther, Jr., 1929-1968

Rock music -- History and criticism

Vietnam War, 1961-1975

Secondary Sources - Scholarly Journal Articles

Cite Your Sources

Kate Turabian's Manual for Writers... is available both at the Reference Desk and book collection. University of Chicago Press also has a quick guide to Turabian online.