Skip to Main Content

History: HIST 106 - Greenwald

Exercise - Map > Concept Map > Question

Waters, Hannah. (2013, October 15). "The Enchanting Sea Monsters on Medieval Maps." Smithsonian Magazinehttps://www.smithsonianmag.com/science-nature/the-enchanting-sea-monsters-on-medieval-maps-1805646/ 

Background Information

In general, reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc.) provide basic background information. They also often contain citations to related sources, which can save you a lot of time.

Beyond Encyclopedias...

We also have a lot of books on the history of cartography. These can all be excellent for background information. If the location says, "Special Collections," you will need to visit their reading room on the 4th floor to view the book. Bring the call number and title with you.

Finding Books

MUSCAT Plus will give you access to the books that we have (both in print and as ebooks) in our collection here.

Keywords

For both library catalogs and article databases, start with your keywords: such as:

africa AND maps AND history

America AND exploration AND map

"Latin America" AND (map OR cartography)

Subjects

Then, use the subjects. They'll save you time and let you find things you wouldn't have anticipated with keywords.

Some useful subjects may be:

Finding Scholarly Articles

History

Art History

Interdisciplinary

Citation with Turabian or Chicago Style

For more information about citation styles and citation software, see the citation guide.

The online Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide provides examples for commonly cited sources in both Author-Date and Notes and Bibliography styles.

Citing Maps from the Stuckenberg Collection

How to Cite Maps from the Stuckenberg Map Collection (via Special Collections)

Cartographer. Title. Date. Name of collection. Name of repository, Place.

Example: 

Tanner, Henry Schenck. New Map of Pennsylvania. 1833. Stuckenberg Map Collection. Special Collections & College Archives/Musselman Library, Gettysburg College. https://gettysburg.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p4016coll7/id/484/rec/4.

For the full entry in the Chicago Manual of Style, see 14.237.