HIST 371 - Bamba - History - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Bibliographies

Why use bibliographies?

It may sound odd to use a bibliography, but these published and curated bibliographies are often organized by topic and are a quick way to identify books and journal articles. Both of these are online and can be searched by keyword or browsed by theme.

International African Bibliography Online Database (Subscription)
Use the DeGruyter online access. Online database of books, articles, and papers in African Studies published between 1971-present. Search by keyword.
Africana Periodical Literature (africabib.org - African Studies Center)
The site consists of five bibliographic databases (Africana Periodical Literature, etc.) for Africana social science titles. Contains the citation only, not the full text. Check against our collection.

Background Information

Online Collection of Reference Works

Gale Reference eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.

Specific Titles

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History
Call Number: Website
ISBN: 0190277734
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History may be searched by keyword or browsed by subject. Very helpful for background and the lengthy bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Africa
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 0195337700
Publication Date: 2010
1300 entries cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. In-depth articles examine contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century African History
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 1280232668
Publication Date: 2003
Includes over 250 entries on African politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures and arts during the 20th century.
The Cambridge History of Africa
Call Number: Book Collection DT20 .C28 v.1-8
ISBN: 052122215X
Volume 7. From 1905 to 1940
Volume 8. From c. 1940 to 1975
Volumes available as ebooks.

Journal Articles

History

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to world history articles, book chapters, books, and more on topics dating from 1450-present. Coverage excludes U.S. and Canada. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1954-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text journals articles across all disciplines. Years of coverage: varies by journal title.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to approximately 250 journals published by 40 academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Freely Available Index to Scholarly Literature

Africana Periodical Literature (africabib.org)
The site consists of five bibliographic databases (Africana Periodical Literature, etc.) for Africana social science titles. Contains the citation only, not the full text. Check against Musselman's holdings.

Finding Books

Our Library Collection

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Other Libraries

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods).

Borrowing Materials from Another Library

We have a lot of items, but not everything you'll need during your time at Gettysburg.

Interlibrary loan is a service that allows you to borrow materials unavailable at Musselman Library from other libraries around the world. Articles usually arrive in 24 hours. Books may take 4-7 days.

Interlibrary loan is fully integrated into library databases via the Gett It button and MUSCAT Plus, the library catalog. You are able to make and manage requests through your library account.

Watch for the "Gett It" button in databases. Clicking it will check to see if we have the item in our collection and direct you to request a copy from another library if we don't.

More directions for requesting books/book chapters and journal articles are on the library webpage.

Primary Sources

Digital Collections

Newspapers

African Newspapers, Series 1: 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
Contains 67 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Access English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, full-images of the London Times including articles, editorials and commentary, advertisements, and illustrations/photographs. Archives covers from 1785 to 2019.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).

Document Collections

Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Includes materials about the liberation and independence movements in Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.

World Digital Library
A partnership between the Library of Congress and the UN, the WDL includes primary materials from all countries and cultures.

Adam Matthew Explorer This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.

Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 (Adam Matthew Collection)
The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. Materials range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.

Magazines

Readers’ Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles on all subjects from approximately 375 general and popular magazines (no scholarly journals), 1890-1982.

Selected African Magazines

For weekly news coverage from within Africa, the two titles below will be useful. For titles that are housed in Knouse (our off-site storage facility), you can easily request these to be returned to Musselman for you. You can then check them out for 7 days.

To request materials from off-site storage, login to Muscat Plus and click the "request" button on the catalog record.

Jeune Afrique (1974-1998)
This weekly magazine has had multiple title changes over the years. The link above will take you to the search results for all of them. When you click on a title, note the date range represented.

Jeune Afrique has not been indexed in a database. Browsing the print issue during specified date ranges will be your primary mode of access.
Africa Today (Popular News Magazine)
Popular magazine addressing critical issues from the continent of Africa.
Knouse- v.5(1999)-v.14(2008), v.19(2013)

History: HIST 371 - Bamba

Questions?

Citation

RefWorks and Zotero