Skip to main content

International Students: Home

Welcome to Musselman Library

Musselman Library is full of people and resources to make sure that you have a smooth transition to Gettysburg College and can make the most of the library. This guide is intended to give you a quick overview of some essential pieces of information based on questions from previous international students.

Of course, we can't cover everything that you'll need for the next four years in one guide. Please ask for help whenever you need it. Everyone in the library, from librarians to student library workers, is ready to help.

Ask for Help

Research Help Desk

Go to the Research Help Desk for questions about:

  • Research for an assignment
  • Finding general library information
  • Searching for books
  • Searching for journal articles
  • Using library databases
  • Troubleshooting electronic access

Ask us button displayed on left hand side of library homepage

There are a lot of ways to contact the Research Help Desk. We're open Monday-Thursday 9 AM-5 PM, 6-10 PM, Friday 9 AM-3 PM, and Sunday 6-10 PM. Stop by in person, email us at ask@gettysburg.edu, text us (717-473-4532), or ask in the chatbox on our library webpages and many databases.

We're also happy to sit down and meet with you for a longer period of time about using the library and research. Just request a research appointment with a librarian by completing our form.

Even if the Research Help Desk isn't open, you can always search to see if your question has already be asked by clicking the green "Ask us" button on our webpages. (Try clicking on it to your far left.)

 

Check Out & Reserves

Contact the Check Out & Reserves desk attendant for questions about:

  • Your library accounts
  • Overdue fines
  • Due dates and renewals
  • Checking out Course Reserves

You can reach them in person on the main level or by phone at (717) 337-7024.

Where to get started: MUSCAT Plus

Muscat Plus search start screen with options for catalog, everything, a-z databases, and research guides

MUSCAT Plus provides simple, one-stop searching for books and e-books, videos, articles, digital media, and more.

*Always sign in. You'll see more results and be able to save your results to your account.

  1. Library Catalog (MUSCAT): This search includes books, e-books, and media that are available in Musselman Library.
  2. Everything: This search includes books, journal articles, media, and much more that are both in Musselman Library and beyond.
  3. Find a Journal: Search by title if you already have a citation and want to see what full text holdings we have for a journal, magazine, or newspaper.
  4. A-Z Databases: If you want to search within a specific database, you can go here to get to the full list of databases.
  5. Research Guides: From here you can get the full of list research guides, with specific suggestions for disciplines and individual classes.

Library Language

Libraries use a lot of language that can be confusing. For example, what is the difference between Reference and Circulation? And, what do people mean when they say something is in "the stacks"?