Skip to Main Content

Music: MUS_CLAS 149: Social Foundations of Music Education

Your Assignment

Read and report on one journal article. This article must be on some aspect of teaching and learning music. The article must be from one of the following journals, which are available in the library:

 

  • Action, Criticism, & Theory in Music Education
  • The Bulletin of the Council on Research in Music Education
  • The Journal of Research in Music Education
  • Music Educators Journal
  • Music Education Research
  • Research Studies in Music Education
  • Visions of Research in Music Education
  • Teaching Music
  • Kodály Envoy
  • General Music Today 

Finding Articles - Music Databases

Finding Articles - Education Databases

Public version of ERIC  (US Department of Education) -- Accessible to anyone. We pay for the interface for our version, but it has the same contents.

Seeing Our Holdings for a Specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

If you're following a citation from a source you already have, you may want to check our holdings for the specific journal, newspaper, or magazine.

1. Often, you may catch the article by searching in Muscat Plus (make sure you have "Everything" as the search scope).

2. You can search by specific title in Muscat Plus with the "Find a Journal" button at the top. 

find a journal option at the top of the muscat plus start screen

After your search by publication title, you'll see what years we have in full text and where we have them. Or, it may say that we don't have it at all, which means you can put in an interlibrary loan request to get a copy from another library.

APA Citation

APA 7th edition manual cover

Multiple copies of the APA Manual (7th ed.) are available at the Reference Desk and in the Book Collection.

Additional instructions, not provided by APA, are available online:

Citing a Journal Article in APA

  • If a journal article has a DOI, include the DOI in the reference.
  • Always include the issue number for a journal article.
  • If the journal article does not have a DOI and is from an academic research database, end the reference after the page range (for an explanation of why, see the database information page). The reference in this case is the same as for a print journal article.
  • Do not include database information in the reference unless the journal article comes from a database that publishes works of limited circulation or original, proprietary content, such as UpToDate.
  • If the journal article does not have a DOI but does have a URL that will resolve for readers (e.g., it is from an online journal that is not part of a database), include the URL of the article at the end of the reference.

For more detail, see the online APA style guide.

Details on Listing Authors in References and In Text

For more detail on listing authors in your reference section, refer to the APA manual.

In-text citations for multiple authors can get confusing, the Purdue OWL breaks provides clear examples of what to do with 1, 2, or 3 or more authors when you're citing them in text.

Subjects: Music