Skip to main content

Special Collections - World War I Sources: Home

A guide to the World War I sources found in Special Collections.

World War I Posters on GettDigital

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

World War I in Special Collections: Featured Materials

Featured manuscript collections:

Bair-Kohler-Berger Family at 339 Carlisle Street. The collection contains documents, photographs, and artifacts from Clyde D. Berger's service in the Tank Corps during World War One.MS-131

Jessen, Jes Jerry. This collection contains 109 letters written by Jes Jerry Jessen addressed to his family in Spokane, WA, including his mother and father, his brothers George and Ralph, his sister Helen ("La La") and his aunt Molly between June 6th, 1917 and June 22nd, 1919. MS-103

Taylor, Amos E., Class of 1915. Series II: Military Service. Contains typed copies of daybooks/diaries Taylor kept during his military service between 1917 and 1919. There are a large number of purchased photographs of different towns and battle scenes in France, German propaganda photos, and a number of personal photographs of soldiers, camp life and other scenes in France. MS-003

Tompkins, Francis M. 3 annotated scrapbooks made by Francis M. Tompkins, Ist Lieutenant of the 305 Engineers. The scrapbooks contain photographs, documents, maps, and memorabilia from his experiences from June 1918 training at Camp Lee, VA through his time in France. MS-155  

Toomey, Leo. Correspondence, September 1917 - May 1918, between Toomey, his mother and sister, and, correspondence, January 1916 - April 1927, to Toomey from various sources. Collection also includes photographs, documents and other ephemera and a home-made kit bag. MS-032

Featured Vertical File Manuscripts:

Locke, W. L. Letter to Miss Thompson from Camp Colt, Gettysburg, PA. ALS-3pp. VFM-222

Wally. Cartoons of the A.E.F. booklet. VFM-240 (oversize)

Letter to American Troops. Signed by King George V of England. April 1918, Windsor Castle. A.L.s. VFM-358

Featured Digital Collection:

GettDigital World War One

 

 

Locating Materials

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

 

Questions?

Ask an Archivist

Special Collections Reading Room Hours

(Musselman Library, 4th Floor)

When classes are in session

Mon, Thurs, Fri : 1 - 5 PM
Tues, Wed : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer 

Open for exhibits Wed, Thurs, Fri: 1-4 PM

Other times by appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use

Subject Guide

Amy Lucadamo's picture
Amy Lucadamo
Contact:
Mussleman Library - Special Collections & College Archives, 4th floor
717-337-7006
Website