Research Guides: Spanish: SPAN 305 Lacayo

Scholarly Background Information

Gale Reference eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

To see have more options and see all results, sign in before searching.

Digitalia Hispanica - Social and Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes Spanish-language ebooks and ejournals in Architecture, Art, Film Study, Geography, Health Sciences, History, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Political Affairs, Religion, Science, Social Science and Technology.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Over 6,000 journals and series, plus 1,200 book publishers, are indexed. Articles date from 1926-present.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals plus cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 270 journals. Contains more than 160 full-text journals and over 160 full-text books. Access Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914. Includes more than 63,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

PRISMA This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Includes titles indexed in HAPI featuring Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Supports the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Find copies of the MLA Handbook at the Research Help Desk or in the stacks (call number: LB2369.G53 2016)

MLA Handbook This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the online MLA Handbook for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources according to the Modern Language Association defined style guide/format. This is the ninth edition, 2021 MLA Handbook.

An online guide to MLA citation style is also available via Purdue University's OWL website.
Using MLA Format (MLA Style Center)

For help with other styles (Chicago, APA, etc.), see the library's online citation guide.

The following tutorials explain how to find and access different library resources from off campus.

Finding Library Databases: This tutorial explains where and how to access all of the Library's online databases
How to Access Journal Articles: This tutorial explains how to use the Library's Gett It button to check for the full text of subscription journal articles
Finding and Reading Ebooks: This tutorial covers how to search for ebooks in the Library's collection and how to access them online
How to Use Google Scholar While Off Campus: This tutorial walks through how to connect Google Scholar to Musselman Library's subscription resources