Last Updated: Aug 28, 2013
- Europa World Plus
Provides access to The Europa World Year Book and Regional Surveys of the World with regular online updates. Includes economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country and a listing of international organizations.
- Political Handbook of the World in CQ Political Reference Suite
Provides information on a country's geography and history, government and politics, political parties and groups, legislature, cabinet, news media, and intergovernmental representation. The news media section usually lists major newspapers, radio stations, and television networks with their political affiliations.
- CIA World Factbook
Provides one or two pages of data on that nation's geography, people, government, economy, communications, and defense forces.
- Library of Congress Country Studies
A freely available online source which provides access to the series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army.
- Statesman's Yearbook
REF JA 51 .S7
Print resource. Latest copy in Reference, older years on third floor.
Provides information about history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country, all thoroughly researched and verified by a dedicated editorial team. It also provides extensive further reading lists and web links for further research.
Available back to 1869.
- US State Department Background Notes
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
- OECD iLibrary
Provides full-text content in PDF format for all OECD Books and Periodicals published since 1998 and the use of OECD databases to interactively create customized data extractions for downloading as MS Excel spreadsheets.
- Europa: Gateway to the European Union
A freely accessible gateway to the EU, with information on the major EU organs.
- Census Bureau International Programs Center
Find tabular data for countries and regions as well as demographic indicators, population pyramids and source information for countries.
Provides statistics for European Union members that enable comparisons between countries and regions in the areas of economics, population and social conditions, industry and trade, agriculture, transportation, environment and energy and science and technology.
- UN Country Information
Provides a data snapshot including economic and social indicators and environmental statistics
Provides 15 databases from different UN agencies covering agriculture, health, human development, communication technology, industry, population, refugees, trade and tourism.
- World Bank Data: World Development Indicators
Provides over 550 development indicators with time series for 207 countries and 18 country groups, 1960-present (where data is available).
- BBC News: Country Profiles
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives.
- The Economist Country Briefings
News articles from The Economist, and country information from the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU).
Provides access to the Facts on File databases: World News Digest, Issues and Controversies and Today's Science.