Provides access to The Europa World Year Book and Regional Surveys of the World with regular online updates. Includes economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country and a listing of international organizations.
Provides information on a country's geography and history, government and politics, political parties and groups, legislature, cabinet, news media, and intergovernmental representation. The news media section usually lists major newspapers, radio stations, and television networks with their political affiliations.
Covers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide. Browse by places, people, international organizations, or abbreviations. Includes editions from 1864-present.
A freely available online source which provides access to the series of books prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the Department of the Army.
These publications include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
Provides full-text content in PDF format for all OECD Books and Periodicals published since 1998 and the use of OECD databases to interactively create customized data extractions for downloading as MS Excel spreadsheets.
Provides statistics for European Union members that enable comparisons between countries and regions in the areas of economics, population and social conditions, industry and trade, agriculture, transportation, environment and energy and science and technology.
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio or video clips from BBC archives.