Special Collections - Civil War Sources: Home

This function will allow you to search within LibGuides, Manuscript Collections, Finding Aids, and Databases. To search the library's catalog, use MUSCAT Plus.

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

Civil War Era (1830-1877)
A collection of political cartoons, personal papers, pamphlets, maps, paintings and photographs from the Civil War Era.

Civil War Reunions and Reminiscences (1878-1938)

Civil War Commemoration, Interpretation, and Battlefield Preservation

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in Civil War might want to investigate:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to the Civil War

Photographs

The Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, located in the Reading Room

GettDigital Civil War Collections

• Civil War Era (1830-1877)
• Civil War Reunions and Reminiscences (1878-1938)
• Civil War Commemoration, Interpretation, and Battlefield Preservation
• New England Loyal Publication Society

College Archives and Publications that may be of use:

• Minutes and publications
  • Trustee minutes
  • Faculty minutes
  • Course catalogues

Additional information can be found in:

• A Salutary Influence: Gettysburg College 1832-1985, by Charles H. Glatfelter
• The Pennsylvania College Book, 1832-1882, E. S. Breidenbaugh, ed.
• A History of Gettysburg College, 1832-1932, by Samuel G. Hefelbower

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT Plus.

• Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
• Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.