13th Illinois Volunteer Regiment. Diary, May 1861-1863, Western Theatre, Vicksburg. Author unknown. CWVFM-99
63rd Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment. Register. CWVFM-112-Oversize
165th Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment. Ledger and list of officers. CWVFM-113-Oversize
Abbott, General Ira Coray. 1st Michigan Infantry, Co. G & C. Diary. 1861-1863. CWVFM-131
Adams- County Poorhouse (Alms-house). Ledger. 1837-1875. AMs. CWVFM-123
Adams- Rifles. List of officers and privates of the Adams- Rifles. Ms-4pp. CWVFM-1
Adams- Rifles. Unaddressed invitation to the runion of the Adams- Rifles held 29 May 1882 and one ticket for the Re-union Ball and Reception held at Gettysburg Springs Hotel, 25 Aug. 1869. CWVFM-2
Aide-de-camp to General John E. Wool. Diary, January to September, 1862. Accounts of the Merrimac's battles and battles at South Mountain, Harpers Ferry and Antietam. MS-026
Alexander, Augustus W. "Who was Augustus W. Alexander?" Unfinished essay written by an unknown author in response to Alexander's critique of Grant. Includes transcription. AMs-8pp. CWVFM-3
Antietam Memorial Program. Program of the scheduled events for a 1931 commemoration of the Battle of Antietam/Sharpsburg. CWVFM-142
Arms-, Capt. Robert B. Collection of 230 letters and documents, most dated 1862-1863 (when Arms- was commanding Co. B, 16th Vermont Regiment). .50 cu. ft. MS-050
Barr, Alexander C. Collection contains the letters of Alexander Barr, Battery F, 3rd Independent PA Light Artillery. MS-073
Barry, John L. This collection contains 47 letters, 37 of which are written by John L. Barry during his time in the Civil War between 20 June 1861 and 7 June 1862. The letters are written to his family in Dunkirk, New York, addressing his mother, father, sister Ellen, and brother Robert. Additional correspondence in this collection includes five letters from family friend Anthony J. Softus, also a soldier in the Civil War, addressed to his mother, Ellen and Robert Barry; two letters from John's sister Mary Barry, addressed to Ellen Barry; one letter from Charles Griffith addressed to Robert Barry; and one letter from Dennis Barry, John's uncle, addressed to John's father in sympathy shortly after hearing of John's death. MS-105
Baugher Family Papers. Collection contains the Civil War Compiled Military Service Record of President Baugher's son, Nesbitt. MS-034
Baum, Charles. Handwritten and typed account of Lincoln's speech at Gettysburg. 17 December 1935. TMs-2pp. AMsS-2pp. CWVFM-5
Baumes, Oscar, 123rd New York Infantry, Co A. Letters from Baumes to family and friends, 1862. Photocopies. 6pp. CWVFM-132
Beidelman, George W. Letters, 1861-1864, written while serving with Co. C, 71st Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment to his family in Blooms-burg. Collection also includes ephemera, documents, pre-war letters, and letters to and from others. 88 ALS, over 180 pages. MS-043
Bemis, Henry N. Member of Co. D, 15th Massachusetts Infantry, 24 July 1861-12 November 1862, then member of Co. I, U.S. Army 1st Light Artillery, 13 November 1862-12 July 1864. Two diaries: (1) 17 July 1862-14 March 1864 (2) 17 March- 4 July1864. The collection includes three photographs and his discharge paper. 1 box. MS-060
Bikle, Philip M. Collection. 1834-1934 (Class of 1866). Collection consists of personal correspondence, class notes and account books. 1 cubic foot. MS-070
Bikle, Philip M. Bikle's account of Lincoln's speech at Gettysburg. 12 February 1926. TMsS-4pp. CWVFM-6
Blood, Captain H. B. [Assistant Quartermaster.] Correspondence concerning payment to PA College for damages done to the buildings while used for hospital purposes. One letter from Blood to Dr. Baugher, President of the college. 3 Sep. 1863. ALS-1p. One copy of a letter from Acting Quartermaster General Charles Thomas to Blood, forwarded to Dr. Baugher. L-2pp. CWVFM-7
Bounns, J. Francis. Souvenir photo-card, "The Children of the Battlefield." Copy of Ferrotype found in the hands of Sergeant Humiston of the 154th NY volunteers as he lay dead on the Battlefield of Gettysburg. CWVFM-9
Bradford, George. Two loyalty oaths for Bradford, issued 29 December 1863 and 18 April 1863 in Accomack County, Virginia. 2 D-2pp. CWVFM-116
Broadsides. American Civil War Broadside Collection. 26.A.5
Browne, William J. Letters from Browne to his siblings describing moving his family to Orange Spring, FL, and their subsequent hasty departure because, "we were not Safe in remaining any longer although we had provisions sufficient for 6 Months." 29 Dec. 1860 - 28 April 1862. 5 ALS-20pp. CWVFM-11
Cabeen, Richard. Letter to Bell I. Wiley, Emory University, about Camp Douglas, Illinois. Chicago, 5 Dec. 1951. ALS-2pp. CWVFM-12
Caldwell, John C. A copy of the report of Brigadier General John C. Caldwell, Commanding 1st Division II Corps, describing July 2 and 3 at the Battle of Gettysburg. 5 Sep. 1863. Ms-6pp (copy). CWVFM-13
Cashtown. Ledger. 1790-1845; with diary Jan. 1861-May 1863. Mentions the death of George Hartman, 165th PA. 1 AMs item. CWVFM-124
Chapman, Merrick. Appointment and discharge papers of Sergeant Chapman, Company I, 5th Regiment of New York Artillery Volunteers. 24 June 1865 and 4 Jan. 1865. 2 D-2pp. CWVFM-108-Oversize
Chisholm, Lt. Daniel. Letters written while in Co. K 116th Pennsylvania Volunteers. 1 box. MS-028
Cheshire, Thomas. Manuscript, photographs and documents. Cheshire was a Union scout from Kentucky when he was captured and sent to Andersonville prison, from which he later escaped. 1 box. MS-014
Civil War Institute. The Civil War Institute originated out of a three day conference on the Civil War, November 17-19, 1957, held at Gettysburg College, as part of the activities commemorating the 125th anniversary of the war. This collection contains two different types of materials. Series I contains materials relating to the Civil War in general, and are organized by subject. Series II and III contain materials or records pertaining directly to the Civil War Conferences and the Civil War Institute from 1957 - 1963. MS-122
Clare, Henry Pentland. (1834-1892) 9th Regiment, NY Militia, 83rd NY State Volunteers. Jan-Dec 1863 to his brother, William Clare. 47 Letters. MS-068. [Plus CWVFM-109-Oversize]
Company A 26th Pennsylvania. Articles and essays written about the College Company in the Pennsylvania Militia, and other accounts of the Battle of Gettysburg. 8 Ms items-. CWVFM-119
Confederate Correspondence. Letter from a confederate soldier to Josie Cooper, describing camp life. 14 Jan. 1863. L-2pp. CWVFM-96
Crawford, Samuel W. 3 letters to Isaac H. Pennypacker, editor of the Weekly Press, discussing an article in response to an editorial about the Pennsylvania Reserves in the 3rd Division at the Battle of Gettysburg on the 2nd and 3rd of July, 1863. 1 letter to Mr. Smith in response to an editorial about the battle. 12 July-2 Sep. 1886. 4 ALS-11pp. CWVFM-16
Crossley, Lt. Sylvester. Diary. 118 Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteers, Company H (Corn Exchange). Diary consists of entries kept between December of 1864, Crossley's sixth month as a prisoner of war in Marion, Georgia, and May 15, 1865, about three months after his escape. MS-042
Davison, G. W. Four letters from G. W. Davison to family members, 1861 - 1862. Photocopies from originals and transcripts. 17pp. CWVFM-130
Dawney, Benjamin C. Diary dated 9 Dec. 1862 to 5 May 1863, written while serving in Company H, 126th Pennsylvania. He later became an officer in the 127th PA Colored Regiment. Ms-41pp. CWVFM-128
Day, Herbert Madison. "Persons, Places, and Things of the American Civil War." Unpublished manuscript. Vol I. CWVFM-17, Vol II. CWVFM-18, Vol III. CWVFM-19
Dickins, Francis W. "Acting Midshipmen F. W. Dickins, US. Naval Academy Newport, R. I., 24th March 1862. Private Journal." Entries dating 15 July 1862 - 1 Oct 1862. CWVFM-20/21
Early, Jubal A. Letter to Isaac R. Pennypacker, Esq. [Editor of the Weekly Press] declining to write an article about the Battle of Gettysburg, but referring him to several of his published articles. Lynchburg, Virginia, 7 May 1886. ALS-2pp. CWVFM-22
Envelopes, Patriotic. A collection of Union patriotic envelopes. CWVFM-23
Ervin, Elijah. Letters from Pvt. Elijah, Co. A, 79th Pennsylvania Regiment, to his wife, Elmira Hinkle Ervin. The second letter was written from the Thomas Hospital at Kingston, Georgia, where Ervin died. 28 May 1864 - 19 July 1864. 2 ALS-6pp. CWVFM-24
Fisher, Albanus S. Letters from Orderly Sergeant A. S. Fisher, 54th Massachusetts Regiment. One to Capt. George Pope, 31 July 1863, and one to "My Dear friend and Strange acquaintance," 14 Mar. 1864. The letters were sent by John W. Sullivan to Charles Sumner on 31 May 1864. 3 ALS-9pp. CWVFM-25
Foutz, Adam. Biography and some military papers (copies) of Adam Foutz 1841-1911, a Member of Co. A., 190th Penn. Regiment. Foutz was a long term employee of Pennsylvania College, and husband of Catherine Foutz, the "mother of the College." See also Klingel, Albert. CWVFM-26
Fricke, Frank. Honorable discharge paper. 26 June 1865. CWVFM-27
Fuldar, A. E. Telegram to Col. J. K. Duncan stating, "There is only one vessel at each pass now." New Orleans, 25 July 1861. T-1p. CWVFM-28
Geary, John White (1819-1873). Letter with Pennsylvania Executive Chamber letterhead to Prof. M. L. Stoever. The newly-elected governor relates "...in my opinion the Battle of Gettysburg was one of the greatest of the nineteenth century. In the Providence of God, it was the turning point of the War of the Rebellion, and upon its success depended the liberties and happiness we now enjoy...." 22 Feb. 1867. ALS-1p. Includes a wartime engraved portrait in uniform and biographical information. CWVFM-29
Geary, John White (1819-1873). Letters and documents of Geary and Capt. Benjamin F. Lee, many relating to the 28th Pennsylvania Regiment, Col. Geary commanding. .35 cu. ft. MS-079
Gettysburg Asylum for Invalid Soldiers. Subscription receipt towards the erection of the asylum. Ephemera, 1 pc. CWVFM-30
Gettysburg, Battle of. Letter from Rev. Frederick S. Weiser of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, to Dr. R. Bloom, Gettysburg College, sending a photograph of Marcellus E. Jones, Co. E. 8th Illinois Cavalry, the man who fired the first shot in the Battle of Gettysburg. Also enclosed is the typescript of a newspaper article about the photograph. 10 May 1961. ALS-1p. 1 photograph, 3 pcs. CWVFM-31
Gettysburg, Battle of, Fiftieth (50th) Anniversary.Official detailed information concerning the 50th Anniversary issued by the commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 5 April 1913 (2 copies). Letter to the editor concerning information about the 50th Anniversary, 23 April 1913. Map of the Camp for Veterans and veteran’s identification ticket for the anniversary. MS-7pp. CWVFM-137
Gettysburg Battlefield Memorial Association. Documents concerning the association. 10 pcs. CWVFM-32
Gettysburg, Hospital and Provost Reports. Reports and lists of paroled men, prisoners, sick, weapons, goods, nurses, etc., to the Provost from the hospital. 18 pcs. CWVFM-33
Gillispie, J.S. Professor at Pennsylvania College (Gettysburg College). Letter addressed to Professor Gillispie. Signed by 7 individuals 3 later fought in the Civil War. 23 June 1855. MS-2pp. VFM-267
Gotwald, Luther A. Jr. One rough draft, Df-11pp., and a proposal of "A Self-Guided Walking Tour of Seminary Ridge" with corrections, October 1999. MS-16pp. VFM-232
Grierson, Benjamin Henry, (1826-191). Campaign Song (1860), written by B. H. Grierson, of Meredosia, Illinois (to the tune of "Old Dan Tucker"). Offered for sale by the Merdosia Wide-Awakes. Ms-1p. CWVFM-34
Hackett, Ross. Daybook of U. S. Signal Corpsman Hackett from Chambersburg, PA. CWVFM-35
Hall, Maria C. Letters from Hall, a nurse at U.S. General Hospital, Annapolis, Maryland, to Mrs. Chase, Secretary of the Soldiers Relief Society, and Mrs. Ames, thanking them for the recent donations supplies. 15 April and 20 Dec. [1864] 2 ALS-7pp. CWVFM-36
Hamlin, Ellen V. E. Signature. Hamlin was the wife of Vice President Hamlin during Lincoln's Administration. Ms-1p. CWVFM-37
Harvey, James E. Letter to L. I. Cist Esq., St. Louis, stating that he was appointed U. S. Minister to Portugal on 8 April 1861. Washington City, 25 Mar. 1868. ALS-1p. CWVFM-38
Haupt, Herman. Letter accepting a position at PA College. VFM-69
Hays, Alexander. Report from Brig. General Hays, Headquarters, Division, 2nd Corps, to Lt. Col. C. H. Morgan, Chief of Staff, describing his units' participation in the Battle of Gettysburg. Includes transcript. 8 July 1863. Ms-5pp. CWVFM-39
Hayward, A. Henry. Letters, 1861 - 1864, from Sgt. Hayward, Co. D, 28th Pennsylvania Regiment, to his family in Massachusetts and New York. Hayward died of wounds received at the battle of Pine Knob, Georgia. Inventory available on-line. MS-009
Hayward, Henry A. Appointment paper of Sergeant Hayward, Co. D of the 28th Regiment of PA Volunteers. 1 Dec. 1862. D-1p. CWVFM-110-Oversize
Hebert, P. O. Letter to Col. G. K. Duncan, Commanding Fort Jackson requesting him to turn over to Capt. James B. Anderson all the unattached recruits under Duncan's command in to fill up the vacancies in Anderson's company. 18 July 1861. ALS-1p. CWVFM-41
Hege, Michael. Poem. Typescript of verse composed by Michael Hege, of Marion, Franklin County, PA, based on an experience he and his family had in 1863, with some rebels who came to their home to rob them. Translated from the German by Harvey S. Reiff. n.d. TMs-4pp. CWVFM-40
Holland, W. A. Photocopy of "The Old Bucktails -- Their History." Ms-14pp. CWVFM-120
Holt, Joseph, (1807-1894) . Letter from W. A. Cromwell, Treasury Department, to Hon. Joseph Holt, Judge Advocate General, recommending that he permit Edward Kenny of the Treasury Department to be admitted to the "Conspiracy Trial" [the trial of Mary Surratt et. al.]. 12 June 1865. ALS-1p. CWVFM-42
Howard, Oliver Otis, (1830-1909). Letter from Howard to D. A. Buehler, Secretary of the Board of Trustees of Pennsylvania College, accepting the honorary degree the colleges wishes to confer upon him and remembering the days that "ended with such measure of success, as to guarantee peace and prosperity to your little village and to your institution." 11 Aug. 1866. ALS-1p. CWVFM-43
Howe, Julia Wand. Signed card from Howe, author of "The Battle Hymn of the Republic", with a handwritten verse from the hymn. Includes a letter from Howe's daughter and magazine clippings with an image and informaion about Howe. 14 Oct. 1889 and 15 Sep. 1918. ACS-1p. CWVFM-44
Hunt, Henry Jackson, (1819-1889). Letter to General Tidball, discussing officers deserving of promotion. Fort Sullivan, Eastport, Maine, 14 May 1868. ALS-4pp. CWVFM-45
Hunt, Louis. Photographs, including images of Grant, Sherman, Abraham Lincoln and Mary Todd Lincoln. 10 items-. CWVFM-46
Information for the People. Broadside printed for the citizens of Pennsylvania by the Pennsylvania Brigade of Birney's Division. CWVFM-140
Jacobs, Michael. Papers. Jacobs was a professor of mathematics, natural philosophy and chemistry. The collection includes a photograph of Jacobs, letters dealing with his book on the Battle of Gettysburg, Notes on the Rebel Invasion of Maryland and Pennsylvania: and the Battle of Gettysburg, July 1st, 2nd and 3rd, 1863, account ledgers from J. B. Lippincott & Co., testimony of Hon. T. H. Burrows as to the accuracy of the book, chemistry lectures from 1840, and biographical information. MS-107.
Jacobs, Michael. Correspondence between Michael Jacobs and General O. O. Howard concerning the Battle of Gettysburg. Photocopies fro
m originals in Bowdoin College Library. 1864. 9pp. CWVFM-47
Jones, William Thomas. Member of 23rd P.V. (Birney's Zouaves) & 61st P.V. Letters to his family including a letter about the Battle of Gettysburg. 4 Oct. 1861 - 18 June 1864. Typed copies of transcribed letters-50pp. CWVFM-121
Katz, D. Mark. "Booth's First Attempt," by D. Mark Katz. TMs-7pp. CWVFM-48
Keith, Edwin Harrison. "Journal of Bay Point Life." Journal of Keith, writing in Bridgewater, Massachusetts. 1 Jan. - 7 Sep. 1865. 1 volume. CWVFM-49
Kendlehart. Letter from Kendlehart, Gettysburg, to General Early, regarding the General's demands for supplies. 26 June 1863. Transcript and photograph. CWVFM-50
Klingel, Albert. Letters to his brother and sister as well as some photographs and photocopies of several documents. Klingel (1843-1863) was one of the first drafted men in Adams- County. He later entered the 165th Penn. Regiment, Company H on November 8, 1862. Albert died of typhoid at Fortress Monroe. Letters dated 17 Jan. and 13 Mar. 2 ALS-8pp. CWVFM-51
Kramer, Frank H. Finished essay and draft titled "Gettysburg, the High Water Mark of the Sixties" written for the occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the Battle, 3 July 1913. Also included are several newspaper clippings pertaining to the anniversary, as well as notes of addresses. TMsS-14pp. CWVFM-136
Kronenberger, Frederick. Letters to and from Frederick Kronenberger, 2nd New Jersey Regiment, Company G, 1861-1864. Most letters from Fred are written from Brandy Station. The file also contains photographs and documents. 39 ALS. Typed transcription of letters and diary included. MS-015
Lee, William Henry Fitzhugh. Letter to Davis about the passing of a mutual acquaintance. House of Representatives, Washington, D.C., 28 May 1888. ALS-1p. CWVFM-52
Leidy, John. Copy of daguerreotype. Leidy was a private from Wisconsin killed in the Battle of Gettysburg and buried in the National Cemetery at Gettysburg. CWVFM-53
Lenhart, David. Letter to his mother. Camp near Fredericksburg, 18 Dec. 1862. ALS-2pp. CWVFM-54
Lincoln, Abraham. Pamphlet titled "The Autobiography of Abraham Lincoln." Includes letters and an unaddressed invitation. CWVFM-55
Lincoln, Abraham. Autograph endorsement on a letter dated 14 Sep. 1861. Letter is addressed to Senator Ira Harris of New York and regards the service of his son, Lieutenant William H. Harris, graduate of West POint in June 1861, in the Ordnance Corps. AES-1p. CWVFM-135. See also West Point photograph album of Lieutenant William H. Harris, Civil War Era digital collection at Gettysburg College.
Lincoln Mourning Ribbon. Ribbon worn at the Lincoln Funeral. CWVFM-141
Little, Joseph. Note from Burgess Little, ordering the citizens of Gettysburg to take up arms- to defend the borough. 2 Jan. 1863. N-1p. CWVFM-56
Love, Robert. Letters, 1862, from Love, Co. C 10th New Jersey Regiment, Washington, D.C., to his sister, concerning what the regiment is doing in Washington while waiting to go to Harpers Ferry (according to the Rumor going around camp) 4 ALS-11pp. Includes photographs. CWVFM-57
Love, Robert. Manuscript, 1908, "A Boy Volunteer's War Record 1861-1865," by Robert Love, 1st Lieutenant, 10th New Jersey Volunteers, presented to Marian Taylor Love, Christmas, 1908, Philadelphia. 1 volume. CWVFM-58
MacKenzie, Cosmo T. Letter to his brother, discussing the firing on Sumter and opening of the war. Baltimore, 12 April 1861. ALS-4pp. Patriotic letterhead with "Secession Flag." CWVFM-59
Markham, Edwin. Poems-, "Lincoln, the Man of the People," 1924, and "The Man with the Hoe," 1924. 2 TMs-2pp. CWVFM-62
Markward, B. Letters, 1864-1865 written by Markward to his wife and children while serving with the 121st. Pennsylvania Volunteers. 14 letters. CWVFM-63
McConaughy, David. Papers. 2 cu. ft. . 3 boxes. The McConaughy collection is composed primarily of correspondence and is arranged into four series: I. History of the Battle, II. McConaughy Family History, III. Correspondence Regarding the Soldiers' Reunion of August 1869, and IV. The Establishment of the National Cemetery and all administrative matters required therein. MS-022
McGaffick, Thomas B. Letters of Thomas McGaffick, Co. F, 101st Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. MS-074
McGirr, John, Jr. Poem. "Gettysburg" written during the Centennial in honor of his father, J. C. McGirr, who fought at Gettysburg. 1932. Ms-1p. CWVFM-60
McGrail, Eric R. Information about a 1961 student hoax involving a forged civil war note. CWVFM-61
Meade, Gen. George G. Letter to Prof. Stoever of Pennsylvania College, 24 Dec. 1866; to Nicholson, 16 Aug. 1866. 2 ALS-2pp. CWVFM-64
Meigs, Montgomery C. (1816-1892). Manuscript, "The Relief of Fort Pickens," and letter from Meigs to General Samuel W. Crawford, who was collecting research material for a book on Fort Pickins. 7 Feb. 1884. CWVFM-65
Meiser, Thomas. Letters (45), documents and photographs. Company F, 93rd Pennsylvania Regiment. Date range, 1806-1886, but Meiser's war letters date from March 1864 to April 1865. MS-041
Miner, George L. Muster-out from Company A, 15th Connecticut Volunteer Regiment, 3 May 1865, for Miner, who had been taken prisoner and paroled 26 Mar. 1865. D-1p. CWVFM-66
Miner, John W. This collection contains letters of John W. Miner to his wife, Anna throughout his service in the Civil War with the 7th New Jersey Volunteer Infantry and following the war with the 4th US Cavalry at Fort Griffin, Texas. Miner's letters are most valuable when used as a tool to study the perceptions of the Civil War soldier regarding battles and national events. MS-096
Morehart, David. Diary, with typed transcription, dated 1861-1862, written while serving in Company H., 5th Pennsylvania. Ms-37pp. CWVFM-127
Morris, John Gottlieb. Diaries, 1827-1861. 1 box. Unprocessed collection.
Morrison, James W. and William. 12 letters, from 1862 to 1865, written by James R. Morrison, 42nd Pennsylvania Regiment, and his brother, William Morrison, 1st Pennsylvania Rifles, to their family in Titusville, PA. ALS-39pp. CWVFM-126
Moyer, Michael. Diary, 1861-1862, Camp Veile, Tanner Creek, Virginia., Co. C, 173rd Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment. MS-027
Nicolay, John G. Letter to C. A. Walborn, Philadelphia, saying that it will be impossible "for the President to have the message ready to send off prior to its delivery to Congress." Executive Mansion, 29 Nov. 1861. ALS-1p. Tipped into a bound copy of Lincoln's Gettysburg Address. CWVFM-67
Notice of Town Meeting, Massachusetts. Broadside with the notice of a town meeting in Reading, Massachusetts, on August 15, 1864. Agenda items- include monies for refunds and bounties. CWVFM-114
Osborn, Stephen Allen. Manuscript, "Reminiscence of The Civil War," [145th Pennsylvania Regiment, Brooke's Brigade]. Photocopy of typescript of published pamphlet. Ms-36pp; Typed copy of "Recollections of the Civil War", published serially in The Shenango Valley News from 2 April 1915 - 16 July 1915. Ms-27pp. CWVFM-69
O'Neal, Ellen Wert. Letter from Ellie to her husband, a physician, around the time of the Battle of Sharpsburg. ALS-3pp. VFM-106
O'Toole, Gerald. Enlistment paper of Gerald O'Toole, New Orleans. 5 Mar. 1861. D-1p. CWVFM-68
Orr, Timothy J. Copy of a book-length manuscript, "Last to Leave the Field" The Life and Letters of First Sergeant Ambrose Henry Hayward, Company D, 28th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry by Timothy J. Orr Gettysburg College class of 2001 based on material found in the Special Collection, Musselman Library manuscript collection MS-009 Ambrose Henry Hayward Papers MS 256 pp. VFM-398
Padgett, Thomas. Collection of 11 letters from Thomas Padgett artilleryman in the 1st US Artillery to his sister, Mary Ann, and from fellow soldiers, 1861-1863. CWVFM-138
Paper Money. Confederate States of America. Seven Notes. CWVFM-70
Papers. Found after the Battle of Gettysburg on the battlefield by Sallie Mclean. 7 items-. CWVFM-71
Patterson, Joseph G. Letters. Co. G, 90th Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment. 28 letters, April 1862- January 1863. 12 year old drummer boy. 1 box. MS-025
Place, Frank. Letter from Gettysburg to his father, in which he discusses the activities of his regiment. Copy of letter-4pp. CWVFM-72
Pleasanton, Alfred. Telegraph from Maj. Gen. Pleasanton to Gen. Ingalls relating Gen. Buford's need of a good quartermaster. 26 June 1863. 1p. CWVFM-73
Porter, George McCandless. CWVFM-74
Potter, Marvin H. Letters written by Potter to his parents while serving in Co. B, 12th Pennsylvania Reserve Corps. April 1862. 2 ALS-7pp. CWVFM-75
Reed, Samuel A. Reed's discharge from Co. A, 43rd Regular US Troops on 20 October 1865. CWVFM-76
Reynolds, Milo. Photocopy of a letter written to Reynold's mother while drilling in Connecticut. CWVFM-77
Ridge, Robert. Diary of Robert Ridge while serving as a Corporal with the 95th Regiment Illinois Infantry Volunteers during Union campaigns in the South throughout 1864 and the first two months of 1865. MS-116
Robertson, J. Touro. Diary, 1861, written while serving in Co. D, 12th Regiment New York State Militia. CWVFM-78
Rosecrans. Order of General Rosecrans from Chattanooga, Tennessee, October 9, 1863. CWVFM-139
Rubright, Charles A. Diaries, Aug. 1861 - Dec, 1863: Ball's Bluff, Malvern Hill, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, Mine Run, Bristoe, Chancellorsville. 1 ALS from Andersonville, July 14, 1864. 1 Box. MS-061
Rupp, William A. Diary. Rupp was a member of Capt Klinefelter's Co., 26th Emergency Regiment and Co. F, 87th Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment. 16 June to 1 Aug. 1863. Photocopies of diary, CWVFM-81; Transcript of diary, CWVFM-80; diary, CWVFM-79
Sachs, John. Document, n.d. Narrative of Capt. John Sachs, 5th Maryland Regiment, about his experiences as a prisoner in Confederate hands and as a fugitive from Southern captivity, as told to Rev. Jacob Blas, a German Lutheran preacher, and written in German. File also includes a literal translation of the account, biographical information about Johns Sachs, photographs of Sachs in uniform, and a letter from a fellow prisoner to Sachs' son. CWVFM-82
Schmucker, Simon S. See certificate of reimbursement for damages incurred to Pennsylvania (Gettysburg) College during the Battle of Gettysburg (box three, folder six). MS-023
Scott, Col. James Knox Polk. Manuscripts of Scott's memories and experiences while serving with Co. H of the 1st Pennsylvania Cavalry. Parts of the manuscripts appear in Book I of a proposed 2 volume work, The Story of the Battles at Gettysburg, published by the Telegraph Press in 1927. 1 box. Unprocessed collection.
Sedgwick, John. Member of the veteran association of Shaler's Brigade, Sixth Army Corps, recording their feelings about the lack of a monument to their corps commander, Maj. Gen. John Sedwick. 10 Aug. 1906. D-4pp. CWVFM-83
Sheet Music. Collection of published Civil War songs. 1 box. 26.A.4
Shimp, William P. Letters to Anna Lilley discussing the Battle of Gettysburg. Shimp was a member of Co. A, 46th Pennsylvania Regiment. 26 June 1863 and 6 July 1863. Typescripts-2pp. CWVFM-84
Sickles, Theresa Bagliol. Editorial about Sickles' acquittal for the murder of Philip Barton Key, Harper's New Monthly Magazine. Sep. 1895 v. 19, iss. 112, p. 563. Clippings from the Hagerstown Mail concerning the Dred Scott Decision. 20 Mar. 1857. CWVFM-85
Siebert, Henry W. Two journals, 1863 and 1865, of Henry Siebert, Company E, 16th Pennsylvania Volunteer Cavalry. MS-075
Skinkle, Matthew. Letter to his sister, Moriah, copying twelve of the fourteen stanzas of a poem by William Knox (1789-1825), which he incorrectly attributes to Abraham Lincoln. ALS-1p. CWVFM-86
Slocum, H. W. Letter to Samuel A. Chrislie, referring to Slocum's article in the Century. 16 Oct. 1887. ALS-1p. CWVFM-87
Smith, Jared A. Muster Roll for the U. S. Engineers Troop, April to June, 1864. D-1p. CWVFM-88
"Sold for a Soldier; or The Life of His Regiment." Edwards, Ward. War Library: Original Stories of Adventure in the War for the Union 6:131 (New York: Novelist Publishing Co., March 14, 1885). MS-24pp. CWVFM-122
Sponseller, Jonas S. Letter to his family and his sister, relating life at Camp Simmons. Harrisburg, PA, 25 Sep. 1862. ALS-2pp. CWVFM-89
Steffan, Augustus. Diary. Augustus writes of his trip from Philadelphia to Gettysburg upon learning of the death of his brother, John Steffan, an officer in the 72nd Pennsylvania Regiment. Transcription copy-2pp. CWVFM-90
Stevenson, James Hunter. Manuscript. Life in the Regular Army: A Narrative of the Exciting Adventures of a United States Cavalry Expedition Across Western Prairies, Desert and Mountains in 1853 - 1856. Typescript-80pp. CWVFM-91
Stockton, Rev. Dr. Stockton's Gettysburg Prayer given at the Opening of the Consecration Services, reburial of the soldiers killed in the Battle of Hanover, June 30th, and Battle of Gettysburg, July 1, 2, and 3. 19 Nov. 1863. Ms-1p. CWVFM-92
Stoke, F. M. Letter to his brother describing the hospitals and the battlefield. General Hospital, Gettysburg, 26 Oct. 1863. ALS-4pp. CWVFM-111-Oversize
Stover, Emma D. Letter to a friend about the death of a war nurse from typhoid fever. Williams-port, Maryland, 9 Dec. 1863. ALS-4pp. CWVFM-118
Stuckenberg, John H. W. Journal, lecture, orders, manuscripts and letters of Stuckenberg who served as Chaplain of the 145th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, September 1862 to October 1863. Published guide to the 3 box collection is available in the Reading Room. Stuckenberg's Journal was published in 1995 by D.T. Hedrick and G. B. Davis, as I'm Surrounded by Methodists. MS-093
Surratt, Anna. Letter to Linn Hartranft thanking him for his kind treatment of her mother, Mary Surratt. 11 Aug. 1897. Photograph copy-2pp. CWVFM-93
Surratt, Mary. Newspaper article and several pamphlets declaring the innocence of Mary Surratt in the assassination of Lincoln and her untimely death. Incl. 2 pictures of the execution. MS-42pp. VFM-147
Tanner, James. Letter to his friend Alfred Rowles, describing the death of Abraham Lincoln, at which Tanner was a witness. 25 April 1865. ALS-2pp. VFM-149
Thayer, Adin B. Letters of Adin B. Thayer, Co. B, 16th Maine Volunteer Infantry. MS-072
Tidball, John Caldwell. Papers. Diary, letters, notebooks, reports, covering 1849-1865. 1 box. MS-021
Turner, Samuel E. and Clara. The Samuel E. and Clara Turner papers, 1861-1865. Letters from Baltimore couple to cousins in Salem, Massachusetts, describing Baltimore Riot of April 19, 1861, and other matters relating to Civil War and daily life. 1 box. MS-125
Tway, Lewis W. Collection. Co. K. 147th NY volunteers. Broadside, records, photographs, letters, diary, artifacts. MS-011
U.S.S. Monitor vs. C.S. Merrimack. Letter from Samuel Green, Lieutenant and Executive officer on the Monitor, to his mother about the battle between the Monitor and the Merrimack. 14 Mar. 1862. Ms-25pp. CWVFM-98
Uniform Requisition. Special Requisition, No. 40, Capt. Tomas Towson, clothing for Company A, 9th Virginia Cavalry. 24 Dec. 1862. Ms-1p. CWVFM-94
United States Christian Commission. Personal identifier (dog-tag) supplied by the United States Christian Commission. 1 item. CWVFM-95
United States Christian Commission. Manuscript diary, US Christian Commission in the Civil War, dated 22 May 1864 - 7 July 1864; written by a Chaplain in the US Christian Commission (possibly Joseph Alben) traveling with the Union Army during the Civil War. Entries describe his work as a Chaplain in Louisville, Kentucky and Nashville. Diary includes a small photograph of a soldier in uniform, signed T. L. Jenkins. AMs-77pp. CWVFM-129
Wall, Allen Sgt. Veterans records, marriage certificate, death certificates and transcript of Wall's diary. Wall was a Sergeant in Co. F of the 155th Pennsylvania Regiment. CWVFM-100
Walters, Charles C. Captain of the 7th Calvary. Several letters written while in encampment in VA, 1862, as well as 2 obituaries and a carte de visite. ALS-7pp. CWVFM-133
Warner, John H. Thirty-eight letters written by Warner (Company G, 109th New York State Volunteers) to family members and friends during the period October 1, 1862 - May 5, 1865. The affectionate, optimistic letters provide a picture of camp, and later hospital life during the Civil War through the eyes of a young soldier from New York. MS-020
Washburn, Melancthon E. Family Collection. Letters and miscellaneous documents relating to Washburn of Ohio, dating from about 1857 to 1891 with the bulk of the material dating from 1857 to 1871. A substantial part of the letters are to Washburn from various friends and relatives during the Civil War. MS-063
Whitney, H. L. Jr. Letter describing life inside the barracks and potential campaigns. Whitney was a soldier in the 44th Massachusetts infantry. 16 Jan. 1862. ALS-6pp. CWVFM-102
Wilder, Edwin. Exemption Certificates for Edwin Wilder, 2nd, of Hingham, Massachusetts. 12 Sep. 1862 and 20 July 1863. CWVFM-115
Wilder, Theodore. Diary, April 1861 through July 1983. Typescript, the original of which is held by the Oberlin College Library. Wilder also wrote a hard to find monograph entitled "The History of Company C, Seventy Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry," published by John B.T. Marsh, in 1866. 43pp. CWVFM-103
Williams-, Hiram. Letters and documents, 1864, Co. H, 198th Pennsylvania Volunteer Regiment. Williams-, who had previously served with the 10th Pennsylvania Militia Regiment in 1862, was wounded at Appomattox Courthouse a few hours before surrender. CWVFM-104
Womack, John A. Copy of Womack's record of service. Ms-8pp. CWVFM-14
Woodward, Edward. Two poems- by Woodward, a Civil War veteran. One, untitled, about Memorial Day and one, "Woman's Sin was a Blessing," about the Fall. Includes some information about Woodward. CWVFM-106
Writ of Habeas Corpus. State of Maryland vs. Peter Brockhaus. 9 Nov. 1864. D-2pp. CWVFM-117
Wynkopf, George C. Correspondence. 2nd Brigade, 2nd Division, Dept. of Pennsylvania. 2 boxes. MS-076
Young, John B. Diary, 1 January - 22 May 22, 1865. Co. H, 5th Pennsylvania Heavy Artillery. 1 box. MS-078
Young, John Mumma. Memoirs of John Mumma Young (1845-1931). Graduated PA College in 1865, also served in the Civil War. Typescript. Ms-40pp. VFM-169
Young, William H. Correspondence, 10 August 1862 to 18 March 1865, between Young and his wife. Young served in the 2nd Regiment of the 2nd Brigade of the Mississippi Minute Men and, later, in Company V. of the 5th Mississippi Cavalry. MS-008
Zabriskie, Abram J. Two letters discussing the Council of War with Reverend L. W. Allen. 14 May 1896. ALS-4pp. CWVFM-107
Zimmerman, Jeremiah. Letter to librarian John Knickerbocker with his donation of several campaign materials from the 1860 election. TLS-4pp. VFM-201
The vertical files do not contain extensive documentation on the civil war. However, researchers might investigate:
Consult an archivist for assistance or additional suggestions.
Civil War Era Collection
A collection of political cartoons, personal papers, pamphlets, maps, paintings and photographs from the Civil War Era.
