Research Guides: Chemistry: Home

SciFinder

SciFinder, a database of chemical substances, reactions, and literature references, is available via the web but you must create an individual account before using it. You only need to register once, but be sure to register on campus using your @gettysburg.edu email address. Please record your username/password! REGISTER. Wait for your activation email to arrive, and then use the main login page to access SciFinder.

When you use the structure drawing editor, you may need to update your Java applet cache. Just follow the instructions and let the computer update it. View SciFinder How To Guides (from CAS).

The library subscribes to an unlimited simultaneous users model for SciFinder. If you are unable to get in, please contact ask @gettysburg.edu so that we can troubleshoot.

SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n is CAS's new interface for SciFinder.

KEY FEATURES of SciFinder-n:

All Search function—search all reactions, substances, and references at once
Keyword searching and relevancy ranking
Citation maps from reference searches—backward and forward citations, and color-coded relevance ranking
Perform multiple searches and retain your original query using multiple browser tabs
Save searches and filter past searches
Structure searching—any structures drawn or edited in CAS Draw carry over to ChemDoodle
Retrosynthesis planning—generate a full retrosynthetic analysis of all known synthetic routes for any known molecule
Reaction search results are grouped by scheme
Filter reaction search results by Experimental Protocols -> MethodsNow Synthesis to view step by step procedures and protocols
Use PatentPak to view full-text patents from 46 major patent offices

Q. How do I login to SciFinderⁿ?
A. Simply use your current SciFinder username and password. Click THIS LINK to login.

Q. How do new users register for SciFinder-n?
A. New users will register for SciFinder-n with their Gettysburg College email address at this REGISTRATION link..

View SciFinder-n system requirements and recommendations.

Access the SciFinder-n Quick Reference Guide for a step by step journey into SciFinder-n features and/or view SciFinder-n training resources/videos.

Chemistry Databases

ACS Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles in American Chemical Society journals. Includes articles from the first issue of each journal to the present.

ChemIDplus
A TOXNET database of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures) with links to the U.S. National Library of Medicine and other resources, including federal, state, and international agencies.
ChemIDplus Lite
Chemical database designed for simple searching on name or registry.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of 1,700 titles going back to the 1940s in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine science, geography, pollution & waste management, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Nature This link opens in a new window
Contains both current and archival years for Nature, the international weekly journal of science. Covers 1869-present. Browse issues or search by keywords or author(s).
PubChem This link opens in a new window
Open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Access chemical information about small molecules as well as larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Find chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and more.
Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to over 238,000 original articles published by the Royal Society of Chemistry, 1841-present.

SciFinder
Provides citations to chemistry articles, 1907-present. Also allows searching by structure. You must register for SciFinder Scholar before you can use it. Be sure to register on campus using your @gettysburg.edu email address. Please record your username/password! After registering, wait for your activation email to arrive.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and citations of research literature and quality web sources updated daily, 1900-present. Coverage is very strong for sciences, strong for social sciences, and growing for arts & humanities.
Springer Nature Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Springer Nature journals in the fields of Science, Technology, Health, Engineering, Environment, Economics and Law. Basic and advanced searching of Library-subscribed journal content (TIP: keep "Include Preview-Only content" box unchecked).

TOXLINE
Bibliographic database covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most citations contain abstracts and CAS Registry Numbers.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1500 journals, almost 19,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases from John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Access to select full-text. The library subscribes to some, but not all, content in this database.