Skip to main content

Special Collections - Music Sources: Select Manuscripts & Files

Subject Vertical Files

Researchers in Music might want to consult the following Subject Vertical Files:

  • Music Department
  • Films-- American Film Festival/Foreign Film Series
  • Owl and Nightingale Miscellaneous/Programs/Scripts
  • Sunderman, F. William-- Chamber Music Concert Series

Keep in mind that these are a few suggestions, but not an exhaustive list.  Consult an archivist for assistance or additional suggestions.

Select Manuscript and Vertical File Manuscript Collections

Ambassadors in Song: Gettysburg College Choir. Compilation of documents relating to the GCC World Concert tour of 1967. MS-68pp. VFM-174

Arms, Richard A. The papers of Richard A. Arms. MS-037

Civil War Institute. MS-122

Eisenhower, Dwight D. Sheet music entitled "A March to Eisenhower," by H.D. Hirsh and J.M. Frank. MS-3pp. VFM-205

Jesus Christ Superstar. 1971 production by Gettysburg College, directed by Lawrence R. Recla, Chaplain Intern. CD sound recording, advertisements, schedules, and several letters regarding the perfromance, among other documents, are included (copies). Ms-46pp. 33 colored and b/w photographs. VFM-214

Lind, Jenny. Ticket and program from Mademoiselle Jenny Lind's first grand concert. 9 June 1851. D-2pp. VFM-94

Philomathaean and Phrenakosmian Societies Anniversary Celebrations and Literary Contests. Leaflets listing the speakers and music for the 11th (1842), 13th (1844), and 14th (1845) Anniversary Celebration of the Philomathaean Society; for the 10th (1841), 11th (1842), and 13th (1844) Anniversary Celebration of the Phrenakosmian Society; and for three Literary Contests between the two societies (1843 and two not dated).  Literary societies played an important role in 19th Century college life at Pennsylvania College at Gettysburg.  D-9pp. VFM - 375. [For more information about the societies and more examples of celebration and contest programs see MS - 006 Papers of the Philomathaean and Phrenakosmian Societies.  To review the leaflet for the 18th anniversary celebration of the Philomathaean Society see VFM-366].

Philomathaen Society. 18th Anniversary celebration leaflet. Order of exercises for February 14, 1849. Lists speakers and music. Photo copy of the inserts. Inserts list the catalogue of the officers and students in Pennsylvania College (Gettysburg College).  Location: College Documents VFM-366

Saltzer, Bertram H. Letter from William E. Zabel, Treasurer of Zabel Brothers Co., Music Printers (November 3, 1925) providing a quote for the printing of a musical score for music composed by Bertram H. Saltzer, professor of engineering and director of the Gettysburg College band and orchestra 1925-1940.  At the time, the music program at the college was under the direction of the Gettysburg College Musical Association, a faculty authorized committee made up of Bertram H. Saltzer, Jerome C. Jackson, professor of education and philosophy who directed the glee club and Robert Fortenbaugh, professor of history who took care of the finances. The specific piece referred to in the letter could have been "The Spirit of Gettysburg" composed from a song written by Robert Fortenbaugh, the "Gettysburg Battle Song", or a march completed in early 1926.  The letter contains a hand-written note expressing Professor Saltzer's intention to submit his manuscript for publication.  TLS-1p. VFM-377

Schuman-Heink, Ernestine. Letter from Schuman to Mr. Cooper describing his love of music. 28 Nov. 1933. TLS-1pp. VFM-126.

Subject Guide

Special Collections Guides's picture
Special Collections Guides
Contact:
Special Collections & College Archives Musselman Library
Gettysburg College
Box 420
300 N. Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-337-7002 - Director

717-337-7006 - Archivist

717-337-7014 - General Inquiries
Website

Questions?

Ask an Archivist

Special Collections Reading Room

Musselman Library, 4th Floor

All research visits are by appointment only

We have 6 research tables available for booking during our research hours

Mon, Thurs, Fri : 1 - 5 PM
Tues, Wed : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Students, faculty, and staff can schedule research appointments using 

LibCal