Skip to Main Content

Special Collections - Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: Manuscript Collections

Guide to Special Collections and primary source materials created by and relating to the Indigenous peoples of the Americas

Collections

Manuscript Collections

A Manuscript Collection is a grouping of materials which focuses on an individual, group of people, or organization. Materials can include letters, diaries, photographs, scrapbooks, and other memorabilia. Processed Manuscripts are stored in Special Collection's closed stacks and can be requested at the Reference Desk in our Reading Room.

Browse Finding Aids for the Manuscript Collections

  • The Papers of Franklin O. Loveland. MS-002

Vertical File Manuscripts

Vertical File Manuscripts are single folder collections ranging from one page to 50 pages. 

Browse Vertical File Manuscripts

 

  • Indian Dictionary. VFM-078
    • The notebook contains 257 Indigenous words or phrases and their English translation, hand-written and listed in English alphabetical order. The notebook also includes The Lord's Prayer with the Indian translation. The specific language is not identified. 

 

  • The Red Man and Helper: Newspapers from Indian Industrial School, Carlisle, PA. VFM-474 oversize
    • The April 11, 1902 issue contains among other things an article, WASHINGTON'S RULES OF BEHAVIOR, reported to have been written by George Washington when he was thirteen years old. The double issue published in the summer of 1904 commemorates the retirement of General R.H. Pratt, the founder of the School and leading proponent of assimilation as the best path for the American Indian. Included in this issue are Pratt's retirement statement, a reprint of a letter that he wrote to President Theodore Roosevelt, October 11, 1901, on Indian policy, and commendations from his admirers, acquaintances and friends.

 

  • Circular. William Medill, Commissioner, War Department, Office Indian Affairs, July 1847, to Rev. M. L. Stoever, Principal, Preparatory Department, Pennsylvania College. GCVFM-471
    • Printed circular from William Medill, Commissioner of Indian Affairs, soliciting persons who might be in a position to provide 2material tending to illustrate the history, present condition, and future prospects of the Indian tribes of the United States.3 (original) DS, 1 p.