Research Guides: Librarian Resources: Library and Info. Science

Library Science Guide

Against the Grain
News about libraries, publishers, book jobbers, and subscription agents.
Bowker's Book Analysis System
Contact Technical Services for login information.
Charleston Advisor
Critical assessments of web products, such as database reviews, for information professionals.
Choice Reviews
Provides brief reviews of significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education.
Classification Web
Provides web access to Library of Congress Classification and Library of Congress Subject Headings. 4 users.
EZBorrow
EZBorrow via PALCI is an interlibrary loan service. Use EZBorrow to request items that Musselman Library does not have in its collection.
GOBI
An online acquisition and collection development tool from YBP.

Library and Information Sciences Abstracts (LISA)
Provides abstracts from over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages for library professionals. Coverage: 1969-present.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Provides citations to articles on library and information science from more than 730 journals. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, information retrieval, information management, and more. Years of coverage: mid-1960’s to the present.

RDA Toolkit
The resource description and access toolkit provides a comprehensive set of guidelines and instructions covering all types of content and media. 3 users.

Ulrich's Periodical Directory
Content includes detailed information for magazines, journals, newspapers, and other serial publications, 1665 to the present. Provides data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, abstracting & indexing coverage, full-text database coverage, tables of contents, peer review status, and reviews.

WorldCat
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods). Use to locate items that Musselman Library does not own.