Research Guides: Citation: Home

Online Guides to Common Citation Styles

APA - American Psychological Association

APSA - American Political Science Association

ASA - American Sociological Association

Bluebook (Legal Citations)

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Georgetown Law Library)

Chicago

CSE

CSE Name-Year Citation Style (McGill University)

Environmental Studies

Environmental Studies Department, Gettysburg College (Gettysburg-specific style)

Harvard

Harvard Style (Monash University)

Linguistic Society of America

Linguistic Society of America Style Sheet

MLA - Modern Language Association

MLA Handbook This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the online MLA Handbook for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources according to the Modern Language Association defined style guide/format. This is the ninth edition, 2021 MLA Handbook.

Turabian

Official Turabian Guide (U. of Chicago Press)

Vancouver

Vancouver Style (National Library of Medicine)

Special Collections Materials at Gettysburg College

Citing Materials in Special Collections (Gettysburg College)
A guide to citing common material types from Special Collections & College Archives.

Citation Manuals at the Research Help Desk

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (7th ed.) by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Research Help Desk BF76.7 .P83 2020
ISBN: 9781433832161
Publication Date: 2020 (7th ed.)
Concise Guide to APA Style by American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: BF76.7 .C66 2020
ISBN: 1433832739
Publication Date: 2020 (7th ed.)
Designed specifically for undergraduate writing, this easy-to-use pocket guide is adapted from the seventh edition of the APA manual.

Style Manual for Political Science
Call Number: Research Help Desk - JA86 .A52 2018
ISBN: 1878147625
Publication Date: 2018
PDF is also available online (Rev. 2018) through APSA.

American Sociological Association Style Guide by American Sociological Association Staff
Call Number: Research Help Desk - HM569 .A54 2019
ISBN: 9780912764559
Publication Date: 7th edition, 2019

The Bluebook by Harvard Law Review Association
Call Number: Research Help Desk - KF245 .B58 2020
ISBN: 9780578666150
Publication Date: 21st edition, 2020

The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Research Help Desk -Z253 .U69 2017
ISBN: 022628705X
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
The Chicago Manual of Style ONLINE
Call Number: Online Edition (via Gettysburg subscription)
ISBN: 022628705X
Includes 16th and 17th editions

Writing Papers in the Biological Sciences by Victoria E. McMillan
Call Number: Research Help Desk QH304 .M36 2021
ISBN: 1319268463
Publication Date: 2021 (7th ed.)
Introduction: how and why biologists write: an introduction to biological literature -- Locating and using biological literature -- Handling data and using statistics -- Using tables and figures -- Writing lab reports and research papers -- Writing a review paper -- Documenting the paper -- Drafting and revising -- Preparing the final draft -- Using writing to prepare for examinations -- Other forms of biological writing.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Research Help Desk - LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06

MLA Handbook This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the online MLA Handbook for writers of research papers and anyone citing sources according to the Modern Language Association defined style guide/format. This is the ninth edition, 2021 MLA Handbook.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: Research Help Desk - LB2369 .T8 2018
ISBN: 9780226430577
Publication Date: 2018-04-16

Turabian Citation Quick Guide (Chicago Univ. Press)
Provided by the publisher, this guide covers the basics for Author/Date and Notes/Bibliography styles. See the "Tip Sheets" section for help with paper formatting.

Online Citation Generators

ZoteroBib
ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software.
EasyBib
Create citations in MLA. Using the free version, choose your citation style, select what you're citing, fill in the information, and EasyBib will generate the proper citation for you.
NCSU's Citation Builder
Choose from four styles to generate the citation you need in this easy to use citation builder: APA 6th edition, MLA 7th edition, CMS 16th edition (author-date), and CSE Name-Year (author-date).

Citation: Home

Zotero

Add Citations in Microsoft Word

Format a Hanging Indent

Online Guides to Common Citation Styles

AAA - American Anthropological Association

ACS - American Chemical Society

AMA - American Medical Association

APA - American Psychological Association

APSA - American Political Science Association

ASA - American Sociological Association

Bluebook (Legal Citations)

Chicago

CSE

Environmental Studies

Harvard

Linguistic Society of America

MLA - Modern Language Association

Turabian

Vancouver

Special Collections Materials at Gettysburg College

Citation Manuals at the Research Help Desk

Online Citation Generators