Skip to Main Content

American History MA - Gettysburg College-Gilder Lehrman: Home

Resource guide for students enrolled in the Gettysburg College-Gilder Lehrman MA in American History.

Core Resources

Journal Articles

visual icon of play button over rectangular notebook with bookmarkHaven't used the America: History and Life database before? Watch the search basics. (Video, 3 mins.)

Library Catalog

Your Campus Login for Muscat Plus

sign in with muscat plusTo access ebooks and journal articles, you will be prompted for your Gettysburg College login (your user name is the start of your email address).

Use the "Sign In" link in the upper-right corner before you search to skip login requests for some resources and save/pin items.

View our Muscat Plus tutorial for a quick overview of your search options, accessing an ebook or journal article, or signing into your account.

Filtering Results to Online Only

To see everything MA students can access online, filter your search results in Muscat Plus from "Everything" to "Online Resources" only.

video showing user in muscat plus change search filter from everything to online resources

 

Searching for Dissertations and Theses

While dissertations and theses may be a part of your historiography, they can be challenging to access, especially online. We are unable to complete requests for digital scans of sections of a print dissertation or thesis via interlibrary loan.

If you're seeking a copy of a PhD dissertation or MA thesis:

  1. Search to see if it is available via Google Scholar. Some authors, especially if they completed their PhD in the last ten years, will have made their dissertation or thesis freely available through their university's online institutional repository or via their personal website. Google Scholar searches these and will connect you to the record or PDF if available.
  2. Search in Muscat Plus to see if the author published a book or article based upon the research for their PhD or MA.
  3. Contact the author directly via email. The author may be willing to send you a PDF of their dissertation or thesis if they have it in that format.

Using Interlibrary Laon

What is interlibrary loan?

Interlibrary loan is a service that allows Gettysburg College students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials unavailable at Musselman Library from other libraries around the world.

Although we cannot ship physical books to you, all MA students may use interlibrary loan to request scans of book chapter and receive journal articles not in our collection.

Interlibrary loan is fully integrated with MUSCAT Plus, the library catalog. Members of the campus community are able to make and manage requests through their library account. See the tabs above for step-by-step directions on requesting materials.

Or, you can submit requests directly based on a citation using the request form in Muscat Plus.

Search our Collection

image of request option in library catalog featuring box saying request a digital copy delivered in 24 ours by email with button to click that says get itMake sure that we do not have access to the article by searching for it by title in Muscat Plus or a library database.

  1. Use resources on Musselman’s Research Guides or Databases A-Z to find articles or book chapters.
  2. If the full-text of an item is unavailable, use the “Gett It!” button to see if the article is available in other library databases.
    1. If available, you will be taken to a MUSCAT Plus page with links to the article or to the book.
    2. If unavailable, you will be prompted to sign in to your library account in order to request the item from another library.
    3. Once signed in, select the option to “request to get a digital copy.” You will be notified via email when the article is available to access in your library account.

Search our Collection

Search MUSCAT Plus first to see if available via Musselman Library. This will let you see what we own or do not own.

text in library catalog to get a scan of a chapter or pages in a print bookIf we only have a print copy...

  1. If we do own the book but only in print, sign in to your Muscat Plus library account using your campus credentials.
  2. You'll now see the option to request a scan of a book chapter. Please enter as much information as you know, including the chapter's page range.

button in catalog to request a chapter via ILL that is delivered in 24 hours by emailIf we don't own a copy at all or our print copy is checked out...

  1. Not finding what you're looking for in MUSCAT Plus? Search WorldCat to find your book.
  2. If available via WorldCat, select the “Gett It!” button to request the item.
  3. You will be taken to MUSCAT Plus. Sign in to your Muscat Plus library account using your campus credentials.
  4. You'll now see the option to request a scan of a book chapter. Please enter as much information as you know, including the chapter's title and page range.

If you prefer a print copy...

There may be occasions when you would prefer to use a print copy of a book. Search by title on Worldcat.org to see if a library near you holds a copy.

Digital Collections

Selected Primary Source Databases

As a MA student at Gettysburg College, you have access to a wealth of primary sources, many of which are available online. A selection of resources is included in the following tabs.

For a full listing of available digital collections, please refer to the A-Z list of primary source digital collections.

The general History research guide also allows you to browse collections by source type, time period, or geographical region.

Please note: all newspapers are listed in the Muscat Plus catalog by title.