Find Primary Sources - American History MA - Gettysburg College-Gilder Lehrman

Introduction

As a masters student at Gettysburg College, you have access to a wealth of primary sources, many of which are available online. A selection of helpful databases relating to American history are listed in the boxes below.

If you would like to see a full listing of available databases, please refer to the A-Z list of primary source digital collections.

Primary Sources in MUSCAT Plus

Our library's catalog, MUSCAT Plus, is often a great place to begin searching for primary sources. It is designed to pull resources from all of the databases we have access to, which is useful when you want to cast a wide net for content to reference in a research project.

If you prefer to go directly to a specialized database for your particular topic, time period, or preferred source type, see the boxes below.

Tips for searching in MUSCAT Plus:

1. Using the advanced search feature, enter the keywords that relate to your research topic. Then, add a new line to enter any of the words below:

diaries, correspondence, personal narratives, interviews, documents, sources

2. Above and beside the advanced search engine, there are a few filters you can use to refine your search results. If you are an online student, it will be helpful to select the one that says "Online Resources" so that you only get results that you can access from wherever you're located.

Ex: United States -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- African American Soldiers -- Personal narratives

Search By Time Period

American History, 1493-1945
A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War. Materials are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Access works best using Chrome browser.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Provides access to primary source archival documents—maps, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, reports, drawings and sketches, monographs, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records—from both American and Canadian institutions. Collection includes direct-from-source newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, as well as indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Content covers the history of American Indian tribes from the 16th century into the 20th century.

Adam Matthew Explorer
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.
American History, 1493-1945
A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War. Materials are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Access works best using Chrome browser.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Provides full text resources about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, etc., with option to search all imprints, including two supplemental collections from the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment
Provides full text sources of Native Americans and their cultures and environment, and their encounters with Europeans. 1601 – 2003.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Provides access to primary source archival documents—maps, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, reports, drawings and sketches, monographs, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records—from both American and Canadian institutions. Collection includes direct-from-source newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, as well as indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Content covers the history of American Indian tribes from the 16th century into the 20th century.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery
The four-part transnational archive includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Browse historic images and link to biographies, chronology, and sources providing background and context for further research. Search manuscripts, books and pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, reference sources, and U.S. Supreme Court records.

Adam Matthew Explorer
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.
America's Historical Newspapers
Features full-text images of over 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
American History, 1493-1945
A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War. Materials are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Access works best using Chrome browser.
American Periodical Series
Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. Includes periodicals published between 1740-1943.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Provides full text resources about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, etc., with option to search all imprints, including two supplemental collections from the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Consists of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons and pamphlets.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Provides access to primary source archival documents—maps, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, reports, drawings and sketches, monographs, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records—from both American and Canadian institutions. Collection includes direct-from-source newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, as well as indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Content covers the history of American Indian tribes from the 16th century into the 20th century.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Contains personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provides full-text access to personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Materials date from 1784 – 2004.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery
The four-part transnational archive includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Browse historic images and link to biographies, chronology, and sources providing background and context for further research. Search manuscripts, books and pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, reference sources, and U.S. Supreme Court records.

Adam Matthew Explorer
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.

For more complete information on resources related to the American Civil War, see the Civil War Era Studies research guide.

Accessible Archives
Provides full-text articles from 18th and 19th century American newspapers, periodicals, and Pennsylvania county histories, covering material from 1728-1900.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Series 1
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes 28,000 issues from more than 260 rare 19th- and 20th-century newspapers published in 36 states.
African American Newspapers, 1835-1956, Series 2
This collection complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998. The more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2, all written for or by African Americans, features newspapers from 22 states plus the District of Columbia.
America's Historical Newspapers
Features full-text images of over 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
This collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs.
American History, 1493-1945
A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War. Materials are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Access works best using Chrome browser.
American Periodical Series
Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. Includes periodicals published between 1740-1943.
Black Life in America
Provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century through the late 20th century. Content is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Library has Series I, 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction, and Series II, 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement.
Civil War Primary Source Documents
Contains manuscript material from the New York Historical Society, chronicling the American Civil War from warfare on land, at sea, in hospitals and prison camps, and reactions and impressions of the War from the home front. Focuses on the War as it was fought from 1861 to 1865 and represents both Northern and Southern perspectives. It also contains contextual documents leading up to War and after its conclusion.
Hispanic Life in America
Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century through the early 21st century. Content is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. Library has Series I, 1704-1942: Spanish Colonialism through World War II, and Series II, 1943-2009: Immigration, Labor Rights and Civil Rights.
Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
Images of the American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera
Provides a vivid visual history of a nation in crisis. Thousands of dramatic images from the fields of battle, politics, and general society allow researchers to experience the events of the war that tested and defined America.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Provides access to primary source archival documents—maps, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, reports, drawings and sketches, monographs, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records—from both American and Canadian institutions. Collection includes direct-from-source newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, as well as indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Content covers the history of American Indian tribes from the 16th century into the 20th century.
Making of America
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts.

The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Contains personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to a collection of 400 19th Century United States newspapers. Content includes full-text articles, advertisements, and illustrations from a wide range of urban and rural American newspapers.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provides full-text access to personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Materials date from 1784 – 2004.
Slavery & Abolition in the US: Select Publications of the 1800s
A digital collection of books and pamphlets that demonstrate the varying ideas and beliefs about slavery in the United States as expressed by Americans throughout the nineteenth century. The works in this collection reflect arguments on both sides of the slavery debate and include first person narratives, legal proceedings and decisions, anti-slavery tracts, religious sermons, and early secondary works.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery
The four-part transnational archive includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions. Browse historic images and link to biographies, chronology, and sources providing background and context for further research. Search manuscripts, books and pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, reference sources, and U.S. Supreme Court records.
Women's Issues and Identities
Provides access to diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, journals and more. Focus is on the 19th and 20th centuries and the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements. Content is from 1775 to present.
Women's Magazine Archive
Provides access to an archival resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Includes titles such as Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, and Ladies' Home Journal. Coverage ranges from the late19th century through 2005, and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

Adam Matthew Explorer
This collection provides access to the complete Adam Matthew Digital portfolio of primary source content published through 2018, including 88 collections as well as the AM Explorer cross-search platform.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Series 1
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes 28,000 issues from more than 260 rare 19th- and 20th-century newspapers published in 36 states.
African American Newspapers, 1835-1956, Series 2
This collection complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998. The more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2, all written for or by African Americans, features newspapers from 22 states plus the District of Columbia.
America's Historical Newspapers
Features full-text images of over 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
American History, 1493-1945
A unique collection of primary source documents that brings to life American History from the times of the earliest settlers. It offers an overview of U.S. history alongside some deep research strands. It covers Colonial America, the Revolutionary Era, the New Nation, and Slavery and Abolition, with material from Lincoln's election to the end of the Second World War. Materials are from the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. Access works best using Chrome browser.
American Periodical Series
Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. Includes periodicals published between 1740-1943.
Archive of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Provides access to fully-searchable newsletters, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other primary source materials. Covers LGBTQ history and culture, including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. Content is from 1940 to present.
Black Life in America
Provides comprehensive coverage of the African American experience from the early 18th century through the late 20th century. Content is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. Library has Series I, 1704-1877: Arrival in America through Reconstruction, and Series II, 1878-1975: Jim Crow through the Civil Rights Movement.
First World War: Personal Experiences; Propaganda and Recruitment; Visual Perspectives and Narratives
The Personal Experiences content provides a window on the lives and experiences of men and women during the First World War and includes letters and diaries, scrapbooks, photos, sketches, and more. The Propaganda and Recruitment material provides insight into public opinion and censorship, recruitment, morale at home and on the front line, etc. Documents include posters, postcards, photos, newsletters, leaflets and more. The Visual Perspectives and Narratives section provides access to unique resources such as official and personal photographs, manuscripts, rare printed material, artwork, objects and film.
Hate in America: The Rise and Fall of the Ku Klux Klan in the 1920s
The collection brings together a comprehensive set of local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and sympathizers, alongside key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities. Content continues to be digitized and added to the collection which provides controlled access to funding libraries until fundraising is complete and the collection becomes freely available. Selected anti-Klan publications are now available to everyone. Use this link https://dwso.revealdigital.org/?a=cl&cl=CL1&e=-------en-20--1--txt-txIN---------------1 to browse by title to see the open publications.
Hispanic Life in America
Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century through the early 21st century. Content is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals. Library has Series I, 1704-1942: Spanish Colonialism through World War II, and Series II, 1943-2009: Immigration, Labor Rights and Civil Rights.
Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
Independent Voices
An open access collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident soldiers, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Provides access to primary source archival documents—maps, periodicals, photographs, manuscripts, reports, drawings and sketches, monographs, legal materials, organizational records, and population census records—from both American and Canadian institutions. Collection includes direct-from-source newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations, as well as indigenous-language materials such as dictionaries, bibles, and primers. Content covers the history of American Indian tribes from the 16th century into the 20th century.
JET Magazine Archive
The JET archive covers 1951-2014 in the areas of art, news, politics, and other social topics with an African-American focus, providing a broad view of culture, fashion, and entertainment. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed; advertisements are fully searchable.
LGBT Magazine Archive
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years. Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in the field, such as the U.S. publication The Advocate and the British publication Gay Times. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Contains personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries. The collection is drawn entirely from the extensive holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
NAACP Papers - Modules 2 & 3
The NAACP’s Major Campaigns - Module 2: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces. Module 3: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses
Newspaper Archive
Contains searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1600s. Use the archive to view, save and print newspapers from around the world. Includes the Gettysburg Times (1909 to 2 months ago).
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provides full-text access to personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Materials date from 1784 – 2004.
Women's Issues and Identities
Provides access to diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, journals and more. Focus is on the 19th and 20th centuries and the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements. Content is from 1775 to present.
Women's Magazine Archive
Provides access to an archival resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Includes titles such as Better Homes & Gardens, Cosmopolitan, and Ladies' Home Journal. Coverage ranges from the late19th century through 2005, and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

Search by Source Type

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Series 1
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes 28,000 issues from more than 260 rare 19th- and 20th-century newspapers published in 36 states.
African American Newspapers, 1835-1956, Series 2
This collection complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998. The more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2, all written for or by African Americans, features newspapers from 22 states plus the District of Columbia.
America's Historical Newspapers
Features full-text images of over 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
American Periodical Series
Provides full-text articles on American social and political development from periodicals published in the United States during the 18th and 19th centuries. Includes periodicals that commenced publication between 1740-1900.
HarpWeek
Provides full-text access to Harper's Weekly, America’s leading 19th Century illustrated newspaper. Years of coverage: 1857-1912.
Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
Independent Voices
A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to a collection of 400 19th Century United States newspapers. Content includes full-text articles, advertisements, and illustrations from a wide range of urban and rural American newspapers.

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Provides full-text of letters, diaries, and memoirs dating between 1861-1865.
Civil War in Words and Deeds
Regimental histories and personal narratives, compiled in the postwar period and early 20th Century period, chronicle the highs and lows of army life from 1861 through 1865.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provides full-text access to personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Materials date from 1784 – 2004.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Provides full-text access to letters and diaries of over 1,325 North American women. Materials date from colonial times - 1950.
Oral History Online
Oral History Online provides in-depth indexing to more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. The collections include full text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life.
West Point Center for Oral History
This collection provides open access to in-depth oral histories with veterans of 20+ conflicts. You can filter by conflict, location, and theme to find interviews that touch upon your research topic, or do a broader keyword search.

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
This collection contains a multitude of digitized historical maps. They are sorted into categories at the bottom of the home page so that you can search for whichever group seems most applicable to your research.
GettDigital - Patricia Molen van Ee Map Collection
A small selection of maps from this collection, which consists of maps from the 17th through the 20th century. Significant focus on the American West.
GettDigital - Stuckenberg Map Collection
The Stuckenberg Map Collection consists of three 17th century atlases and over 500 map sheets from the 16th through the 19th century. Browse by topic (North America) to limit your results.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Catalog
This collection of digitized materials includes thousands of digitized images from a range of materials, including lithographs, tintypes, ambrotypes, and illustrations from pictorial newspapers like Harper's Weekly or Frank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper.
United States Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817-1994
Maps published as part of U.S. Congressional Serial Set publications.

The American Presidency Project (UC Santa Barbara)
The APP collection includes a wide range of presidential documents, such as executive orders, fireside chats, interviews, letters, inaugural addresses, state of the union addresses, etc. Election and transition materials, as well as press briefings, are also included.
American State Papers
Legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817.
Army Official Records of the Civil War
Provides a record of official military records for Union and Confederate armies from 1880-1901. Free access from Cornell University.
Avalon Project
Curated by the Yale law School, Avalon project includes documents in law, history, and diplomacy from from antiquity to the modern day.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates (Library of Congress)
Includes records relating to the Continental Congress, Statutes and Documents, American State Papers, U.S. Serial Set, Journals of Congress, and Debates of Congress.
Congressional Record (Congress.gov)
1995-Present may be found on Congress.gov
Congressional Record (Library of Congress)
Debates and Proceedings, 1873-1875
National Archives (US) - Catalog
The National Archives Catalog is the online portal to the records held at the National Archives, and information about those records.
National Party Convention Documents
This resource guide from the Library of Congress contains documents relating to National Democratic and Republican Conventions throughout American history.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
Beginning with President Hoover in 1929, this series includes presidential writings, addresses, and remarks of a public nature. Volumes are also available online.
Register of Debates (Library of Congress)
Debates and Proceedings, 1824-1837
United States Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes.

Digital Public Library of America
A single search for digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across the United States, including NARA.
GettDigital
GettDigital is the online portal to the digital collections created by Musselman Library's Special Collections and College Archives and offered through AM Quartex. These digital primary sources include a wide variety of material types and subjects including 20th century experiences of war, the Civil War Era, 19th and 20th century visual culture, and Gettysburg College history and publications.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Freely accessible web site of sources from the Library of Congress special collections that consist of primary source and archival materials relating to US history and culture.

American History MA - Gettysburg College-Gilder Lehrman : Find Primary Sources

Research Assistance

Research Help Desk Hours

(Eastern Time Zone)

Fall & Spring Academic Semesters:

Monday-Thursday: 11am-5pm & 6-9pm

Friday: 11am-3pm

Sunday: 6-9pm

Email, Call, or Chat With a Librarian

Email: ask@gettysburg.edu

Call: 717-337-6600

Message us through online chat service

Schedule an Individual Appointment

For more personalized help, schedule a research appointment with a librarian.

Introduction

Primary Sources in MUSCAT Plus

Search By Time Period

Search by Source Type