Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.
Encyclopaedia IslamicaEncyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage.
Encyclopedia of IslamIncludes articles on Islam, Islamic history, law, philosophy, renowned Muslims (historical and contemporary) and profiles of Islamic countries.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim WorldIncludes biographical information, Islamic terms and definitions, illustrations, and maps with an emphasis on Islam's role in the modern world.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'anEncyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.
Provides authoritative research guides that combine the features of an annotated bibliography with a high-level encyclopedia. Subject introductions offer original scholarly content and commentary. Recommendations on the best works available in each discipline help streamline the research process.
The Internet makes access to staggering amounts of information easy – but it also raises important questions: What are the major issues and key developments in the field? Which sources are up-to-date and which are obsolete? Which works are pivotal in defining the discourse at various stages in its development? Which sources are considered accurate and balanced, and which represent simply a given individual or group’s position? These questions are important to keep in mind when undertaking any new study, but they are particularly critical in a dynamic and contested field such as Islamic Studies. Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies combats this overload by providing expert guidance to the field in all its diversity and throughout its developmental stages. Top scholars in the field have contributed on their areas of expertise, so that users will understand how the field is organized and why it developed in the way it did. The articles present a guided tour through the key literature on each topic, providing context for its development, and a balanced overview of the major issues within a given topic.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science and Technology in IslamContains scholarly overviews of the thinkers, movements, instruments, theories, institutions, processes, events, and historical developments related to Islamic classical history and the contemporary quest for knowledge.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and PoliticsCovers the concepts, values, thought, ideologies, structures, institutions, and systems that are unique to the Muslim world, including Muslim political history, Islam in specific geographic regions, thinkers and reformers, movements, society and economy, and international relations.
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and LinguisticsAddresses aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics including pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, and mixed varieties of Arabic.
Geographic Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaThe set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
Encyclopaedia IranicaThe Encyclopædia Iranica is a comprehensive research tool dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia, and the Indian subcontinent.
Encyclopedia of Islam
The New Encyclopedia of Islam
The Islamic World: Past and Present
The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World
The Columbia World Dictionary of Islamism
Historical Dictionary of Islam
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
The Middle East
Atlas of Islam, 1800-2000
Atlas of the Islamic World Since 1500
The New Atlas of the Arab World
The Cultural Atlas of Islam
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
The set covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.
