Research Guides: Public Health Policy: Health Data & Statistics

Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics
Injuries and mortality, reproductive health, disability, and more
America's Health Rankings
State-level data on various health and wellbeing topics
American Hospital Directory
Profiles of individual hospitals in the United States
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
CDC's state-level surveys of health-related risk behaviors and chronic health conditions
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's hospital care data, including inpatient stays, ER visits, and other healthcare delivery and patient outcomes information
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality surveys on how Americans pay for medical care, health insurance, and out-of-pocket spending
USDA Economic Research Service
Data on agriculture, food insecurity, and nutrition
U.S. Energy Information Administration
Energy forecasts, carbon emissions, and market data for major energy companies

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2013-
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Begins with the 2013 edition.
Data.census.gov
Access tables, maps, and datasets from the US Census Bureau. The earliest data begins with the 2000 Census. Includes data that was included in the American FactFinder.

WHO Global Health Observatory
Country-level health data compiled by the World Health Organization
OECD Health Statistics
Health-related data for member states of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
Eurostat
Economics, demographic, environment, agriculture, and trade statistics for European Union members
Human Development Reports
Human development data for 191 countries and territories
UN Data
Data collected and shared by UN agencies and other international organizations

World Bank Data
Free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe. Databases available include World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, African Development Indicators, Global Economic Monitor, Doing Business Database and many more.

CDC Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research
CDC WONDER provides an interface for searching and analyzing public health data
Data.gov
Open data collected and shared by the US government

ICPSR
Provides access to Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the world's largest archive of digital social science data. Years of coverage: varies by dataset.
Roper iPoll
Roper iPoll is a large collection of poll data, covering 1935 to the present, from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Content includes polling questions, charts, demographic crosstabs, and datasets.