Research Guides: Africana Studies: AFS 131A

Getting started

CIA World Fact Book
The World Fact Book is produced annually by the CIA and provides current data for more than 250 countries and territories. Topics include political climate, natural resources, environment, ethnic groups, population, GDP, agriculture, industries, and more.

Statesman's Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Covers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide. Browse by places, people, international organizations, or abbreviations. Includes editions from 1864-present.

Encyclopedia of Africa
The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference in world history, politics, and culture on this region of ever-growing importance. The articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa.

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African History This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, online research encyclopedia that also incorporates audio, visual, and video materials, as well as links to digitized archives and other primary sources. Covers African history, from the earliest stone tool–using hominids to the most recent religious movements, or from new interpretations of the Mau Mau movement in Kenya to recent reconsideration of the Rwanda genocide and its aftermath.

Finding Books

Our Library Collection

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.

Other Libraries

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods).

How do I use interlibrary loan?

If you haven't need to request journal articles, books, or other materials yet, detailed step-by-step directions are available about how to create your interlibrary loan account and request items from within databases or the WorldCat library catalog.

Other Catalogs

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Access collections digitized from libraries and research institutions around the world, as well as collections from digital projects like the Internet Archive. Full-text access is available for items in the public domain, including U.S. federal government documents, works published before 1923, and works still protected by copyright but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder. The default search is a keyword search. Advanced search is available but you must re-check the "Full view only" option for full-text results.

Find Journal Articles

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to approximately 250 journals published by 40 academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

News from Africa

AllAfrica
Aggregates news from publications and organizations across Africa.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).
African Newspapers, Series 1: 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
Contains 67 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Access English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 60,000 trusted legal, news, business and public records sources. Years of coverage varies by title, ranging from 1700 to the present. Search news, cases, law reviews, company information, and publications.
Rand Daily Mail 1902-1985 This link opens in a new window
News archive provides coverage of South Africa from the Boer Wars to the apartheid era. Published daily in Johannesburg, it was the first African newspaper to openly oppose and contribute to the downfall of apartheid.

Current News Sources

National Newspapers

New York Times - Group pass allowing unlimited online access (activation directions); Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Wall Street Journal - Group pass allowing unlimited online access (activation directions); Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Washington Post - Access news articles from the daily Washington Post. Journalists report on politics, business, world national news, and more. Coverage goes back on a rolling 15 year basis. NOTE: Account creation is not necessary. The library provides site/remote access but ads will appear alongside news articles.

USA Today - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Wire Services

Associated Press - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Reuters - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Agence France-Presse (AFP) - Access past articles through MUSCAT Plus

Major Newspapers in Largest U.S. Cities

Many articles from these newspapers can be accessed via their websites, which can be located via a quick Google search. If you run into paywall issues, check Musselman Library's subscription holdings.

New York
- New York Times
- New York Daily News
- New York Post
- Wall Street Journal
Los Angeles
- Los Angeles Times
- La Opinion
Chicago
- Chicago Sun-Times
- Chicago Tribune
Houston
- Houston Chronicle
Phoenix
- Arizona Republic
Philadelphia
- Philadelphia Inquirer
- Philadelphia Daily News
San Antonio
- San Antonio Express News
San Diego
- San Diego Union-Tribune
Dallas
- Dallas Morning News
San Jose
- San Jose Mercury News
Austin
- Austin American-Statesman
Jacksonville
- Florida Times-Union
San Francisco
- San Francisco Chronicle
- San Francisco Examiner
Columbus
- Columbus Dispatch
Indianapolis
- Indianapolis Star
Fort Worth
- Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Charlotte
- Charlotte Observer
Seattle
- Seattle Times
Denver
- Denver Post
El Paso
- El Paso Times
Washington, D.C.
- Washington Post
- Washington Times
Boston
- Boston Globe
- Boston Herald
Detroit
- Detroit Free Press
- Detroit News
Nashville
- The Tennessean
Memphis
- The Commercial Appeal

Sources to Find Current & Recent News on American Politics and Foreign Affairs

American Politics (listed entities are members of White House Press Corps)

News Networks & Cable Channels

Archived Content

American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a growing collection of more than 7,000 historic public radio and television programs. Current content focuses on regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. Access Local news, public affairs programs, local history, and programs covering education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and filmmaking on a local level.

CNN Footage Archive
A searchable database of thousands of archived clips and other content from CNN
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The core collection of the Archive consists of regularly scheduled newscasts from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN and Fox News from 1968 to present. Also includes special news reports and material from other networks. Users may search the Archive or browse by date or topic.

News Magazines

(Note: The links go to the magazine's website, each of which has substantial content freely available. For older content, you may need to use MUSCAT Plus' Find a Journal search to find a particular article.)

Databases

Flipster Digital Magazines This link opens in a new window
Flipster makes it easy to catch up on news and entertainment. Browse available magazines in the library's pilot collection on your computer, tablet or phone. Search within a magazine when reading online. Download Flipster Apps for reading offline.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Supports the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms.
News, Policy, & Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Online archive of 15 major 20th/21st-century consumer magazines including Newsweek. Covers the history of politics, current events, public policy, and international relations. The earliest content dates from 1918 and continues to recent times. Issues are scanned from cover to cover in color.

Current News

Africanews
Africanews covers sub-African and international news and business stories 24/7 in French and English languages from an African perspective. Africanews is headquartered in Congo Brazzaville and work closely with an extensive network of correspondents across the continent.
All Africa
News from across the African continent. Aggregated, produced, and distributed news and information from over 140 African news organizations. All Africa reports for a African and global public.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).
New York Times Online, 1981-Present This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to NYTimes.com content from 1981-present. Students, faculty, and staff can create a NYTimes.com account.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Access to the Wall Street Journal provided by Gettysburg College. New users must create an account; see https://libanswers.gettysburg.edu/faq/235869 for instructions.
Foreign Affairs This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ForeignAffairs.com including the entire digital archives, 1992 to the present. Foreign Affairs is published by the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), a nonpartisan organization. Articles are written by academics, foreign affairs practitioners, journalists, and other informed writers. The magazine covers a broad range of issues in contemporary international affairs from political, historical, legal, and economic perspectives.

Historical News

African Newspapers, Series 1: 1800-1922 This link opens in a new window
Contains 67 African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Access English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1905-1975), Chicago Tribune (1858-1993), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), New York Times (1851-2013), Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-Current), Washington Post (1877-2000), The Guardian (1821-2003), and The Observer (1791-2003).
Aluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Includes materials about the liberation and independence movements in Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Explore African American history, culture and daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes 28,000 issues from more than 260 rare 19th- and 20th-century newspapers published in 36 states.

Africana Studies: AFS 131A

Contact Me

Culture & Special Topic Resources