SPAN 400 - Oechler - Spanish - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Finding articles

General Search Tools

MUSCAT Plus
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
JSTOR
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
Project Muse
Provides full-text access to approximately 250 journals published by 40 academic presses in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
ProQuest Central
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Google site searching can help you uncover readily available primary sources. Try searching Spanish government websites by beginning your search with site:.gob.es, or search Spanish institutions of higher learning with site:.edu.es

Better at Searching Spanish Language Resources

Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI)
Provides citations to Latin American Studies articles covering the regions of Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Over 400 journals are indexed. Years of coverage: 1967-present.
PRISMA
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for interdisciplinary study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Includes titles indexed in HAPI featuring Spanish, Portuguese and English language content.
Informe Académico
Supports the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use, allowing users to easily navigate through the database without experiencing inaccurate search terms.
Digitalia Hispanica - Social and Humanities Collection
Includes Spanish-language ebooks and ejournals in Architecture, Art, Film Study, Geography, Health Sciences, History, Language & Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Political Affairs, Religion, Science, Social Science and Technology.

Finding background information

Gale Reference eBooks
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.
Oxford Reference
Combines reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the resources of Oxford Companions. Quick and easy retrieval of subject reference entries, bilingual dictionaries, English dictionaries, and quotations & proverbs. 5 users.

Borrowing Materials from Another Library

If the library doesn't have an item you want, you can request to borrow a copy from another library via our interlibrary loan service.

Articles (PDF) usually arrive within 24 hours. Books may take 4-7 days. A book chapter (PDF) may arrive in 1-2 days.

small button with the words Gett It! For articles, use the Gett It button in databases to see if we have access. If not, you will see an option to sign into Muscat Plus and submit your request.

For books and book chapters, search Muscat Plus. If you don't see what you want, click "search other libraries" and then submit your request with the "request from other libraries" link on the results page. Or, you can use the interlibrary loan form at the top of Muscat Plus.

More directions for requesting books/book chapters and journal articles are on the library website.

MLA citations

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016

MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Over 6,000 journals and series, plus 1,200 book publishers, are indexed. Articles date from 1926-present.

Purdue OWL contains plenty of examples to help guide you when citing trickier source types
RefWorks and Zotero are two tools that can help with citation management—visit the library's citation guide to learn more.

Spanish: SPAN 400 - Oechler

Questions? Just Ask!

Citation Management with Zotero