Research Guides: East Asian Studies: AS 247/347

Finding Secondary Sources

The Library's Book Collection (...and streaming films/DVDs and sound recordings)

Keep in mind that a book will be broader than a journal article. If the specific work isn't mentioned, look for books about the author's works as a whole, the genre itself, etc.

If you search for an author, look at the record. If there's a subject that includes "criticism and interpretation," follow it. Life just got easier!

MUSCAT Plus This link opens in a new window
MUSCAT Plus searches for books, journal articles, media, and more in Musselman Library and beyond.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books & other materials owned by over 10,000 libraries around the world (subject matter covers material from all time periods).

Google's Answer to a Scholarly Article Database

Google Scholar
To make sure you're not missing anything, you can definitely check in Google Scholar, which will capture some books chapters and journal articles. The article may be freely available or use Gett It to go through our subscriptions.

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Western-language books, articles, and book chapters for research on Asia, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. Covers subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Over 6,000 journals and series, plus 1,200 book publishers, are indexed. Articles date from 1926-present.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) via Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to content on all aspects of English literature and English language. Over 880,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, and collections of essays published worldwide, from 1920 to the present. Search ABELL in LiON and link to full-text if available.

Journal of Anime and Manga Studies
The goal of the Journal of Anime and Manga Studies is to provide a space for academics, students, and independent researchers examining the field of anime, manga, cosplay, and fandom studies to access high-quality research about these topics and share their research with others.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals plus cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 270 journals. Contains more than 160 full-text journals and over 160 full-text books. Access Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914. Includes more than 63,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full-text This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text is a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. It contains more than 490 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals, and more than 360 full-text books & monographs.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Western-language books, articles, and book chapters for research on Asia, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. Covers subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to present.

Journal of Anime and Manga Studies
The goal of the Journal of Anime and Manga Studies is to provide a space for academics, students, and independent researchers examining the field of anime, manga, cosplay, and fandom studies to access high-quality research about these topics and share their research with others.

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to Western-language books, articles, and book chapters for research on Asia, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies. Covers subjects pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Over 6,000 journals and series, plus 1,200 book publishers, are indexed. Articles date from 1926-present.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Citation Help

Citation and proper attribution of sources rest at the core of academic research. Musselman Library provides a Citation Guide to the major citation styles with links to helpful resources online.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Find copies of the MLA Handbook at the Reference Desk or in the stacks (call number: LB2369.G53 2016)

An online guide to MLA citation style is also available via Purdue University's OWL website.

Use The MLA Style Center's Interactive Practice Template to help build your works-cited citation.

Annotated Bibliography

If you've never written an annotated bibliography before, these links will explain all.

If you are a RefWorks user, you can generate an annotated bibliography in some output styles. Ask a librarian for more detail.

Writing An Annotated Bibliography
This page from the Williams College Library provides a basic introduction to writing an annotated bibliography
Annotated Bibliographies
This page from Purdue OWL describes annotated bibliographies and also links to samples.