POL 255 - Akbaba - Political Science - Research Guides at Musselman Library

Short Video Guide on Lit Reviews

Literature Reviews

Created by University of Houston Libraries

Background Information

Gale Reference eBooks This link opens in a new window
Provides a database of encyclopedias and reference sources for research. Coverage include the Arts, Business, Education, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Religion, Science and Social Science. 2000 – present.

Political Handbook of the World in CQ Political Reference Suite
Provides information on a country's geography and history, government and politics, political parties and groups, legislature, cabinet, news media, and intergovernmental representation. The news media section usually lists major newspapers, radio stations, and television networks with their political affiliations.

Statesman's Yearbook This link opens in a new window
Covers key historical events, population, city profiles, social statistics, climate, recent elections, current leaders, defence, international relations, economy, energy and natural resources, industry, international trade, religion, culture, and diplomatic representatives, as well as fact sheets for countries world wide. Browse by places, people, international organizations, or abbreviations. Includes editions from 1864-present.

RAND Corporation
The RAND Corporation is a nonprofit institution that provides reports of research and analysis on topics such as health, education, national security, international affairs, law and business, the environment, and more.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Provides analysis by leading experts from around the world, specializing in nonpartisan research for policy makers, government officials, and academics.
Council on Foreign Relations
CFR is an independent, nonpartisan think tank which provides background information, commentary and articles about foreign relations and international affairs.
Brookings Institution
Brookings is an nonprofit public policy organization which provides research in economics, metropolitan policy, governance, foreign policy, and global economy and development.

Searching for Scholarly Journal Articles

Disciplinary

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to international politics and political analysis, 1975-present.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to political science articles, government documents, books, and more from over 2,462 publications in the areas of public affairs, public policy, social issues, and international relations. Citations date from 1915-present.

Interdisciplinary

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content across all disciplines. Search or browse books, journals, images, and primary sources.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports. Content covers all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.

Finding Films at Musselman Library

Online Film Collections at Musselman Library
Film Criticism and Reviews

Online Film Collections

Musselman Library subscribes to several online film collections. All of the films are included in Muscat Plus. However, if you're having a hard time thinking of possible films, you may want to browse in the collections themselves. Note that all of the collections contain both feature films and documentaries.

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Streaming video database of motion pictures in various genres. Click and view. [Note: Please use browser other than Firefox to access this resource.]
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Collection of current and hard-to-find titles, including literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues documentaries, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more. Film distribution dates range from 1920 to present. This platform works best with the Google Chrome browser.
Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
A database of on-demand streaming movies and documentaries covering a variety of subjects in the humanities, social sciences, and physical sciences.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
A database of videos available online in diverse subjects including Anthropology, History, Economics, Education, Film Studies, Health, Religion, and Women's and Gender Studies. Includes the American History in Video, Ethnographic Video Online, Opera in Video, and Theatre in Video databases.

Film Criticism and Reviews

If you'd like to see what critics and scholars have said about the film you've selected, the database below is the best place to start.

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals plus cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 270 journals. Contains more than 160 full-text journals and over 160 full-text books. Access Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914. Includes more than 63,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

News Sources

Newspapers and Magazines

The New York Times

The library provides group pass access to The New York Times, allowing you to have free access via a NYT account created with your @gettysburg.edu email address. See our detailed guide to create a new account or to connect your existing account to our subscription.

The Wall Street Journal

The library provides group pass access to The Wall Street Journal, allowing you to have free access via a WSJ account created with your @gettysburg.edu email address. See our detailed guide to create a new account or to connect your existing account to our subscription.

The Economist

The library has a subscription to all Gettysburg users to The Economist.com. If you're off campus, you will need to use the link from Muscat Plus to avoid hitting a paywall to subscribed content.

Financial Times
Published in London and focused on business and economic news.

News Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from over 10,680 U.S. and international newspapers, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Includes The Gettysburg Times (2008-present) and The Evening Sun (2001-present).
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to more than 60,000 trusted legal, news, business and public records sources. Years of coverage varies by title, ranging from 1700 to the present. Search news, cases, law reviews, company information, and publications.

Political Science: POL 255 - Akbaba

Questions? Ask a Librarian

APSA Citation Style

Zotero