Skip to Main Content

Special Collections - Local History Sources: Select Manuscripts & Files

Subject Vertical Files

Researchers may wish to consult the following subject files:

  • Adams County-- History
  • Eisenhower
  • Gettysburg Academy
  • Gettysburg Address
  • Lutheran Theological Seminary

Keep in mind that these are a few suggestions, but not an exhaustive list.  Consult an archivist for assistance or additional suggestions.

Select Manuscript and Vertical File Mansucript Collections

Abbottstown at 247: October 19, 2010.  Copy of an address delivered by Dr. Charles H. Glatfelter during the Abbottstown Borough Square Dedication Ceremony and accompanying correspondence about the event between Glatfelter and Dr. Michael Birkner. MS 5pp. VFM-382 [For more information about Dr. Glatfelter see MS - 059.][For more information about Abbottstown see VFM-277 Baker, George Washington.]

Adams County German Prisoner of War Camps. Major Laurence C. Thomas was in command of two camps, Camp Sharpe located on the Emmitsburg Road on the Gettysburg Battlefield was a labor camp, and Camp Michaux in Pine Grove Furnace State Park was an interrogation camp. Materials were confiscated by members of the intelligence corps and came into the possession of Major Thomas. The collection includes accounts of prisoner escapes, military passes, newspapers from the United States, England and Germany, maps of Paris, military passbooks, military service book, pocket atlas, ration coupons, German postcards, pocket card explaining how to attack various tanks with German weaponry, and a diary. MS-056

Adams County Poorhouse (Almshouse) Ledger transcription 2 copies of the Listing of residents alphabetically by last name from 1827 – 1874. VFM-354

Adams County Poorhouse (Almshouse) Ledger d. 1837-1875. 1 AMs item. CWVFM-123

Adams, Franklin Pierce. Letter from Pierce to Mr. Cooper of the Hanover Evening Sun regarding his participation in the 1943 Victory Book Campaign. 10 Dec. 1942. TLS-2pp. VFM-1

Baker, George Washington. (1872-1956) Historical notes on Adams County, specifically Abbottstown, Berlin, the York-Gettysburg Turnpike, and the East Berlin Branch Railroad. Newspaper Clippings and Correspondence. MS-37pp. VFM-277

Barnitz Family of York, PA. . Research paper focused on the Barnitz family of York, PA by Patrick Finn, November 2009, inspired by a letter sent in 1834 from David Grier Barnitz, first valedictorian of Pennsylvania College (later renamed Gettysburg College) to his sister, Mary. This letter introduced the researcher to a conflicting legacy of the Barnitz family through biographical vignettes of David Grier, his father Charles Augustus, his cousin Samuel Bacon and a 2nd cousin, David Park Barnitz, the author of The Book of Jade a collection of disturbing poetry published in 1901. TM-36 pp. VFM – 371 [For more information: See VFM – 11 Barnitz, David Grier, letters to his family]

Beck, Raymond S.  Initiation certificate for Raymond Sylvester Beck for membership into Kappa Phi Kappa, the honorary National Education Fraternity at Gettysburg College, November 13, 1924 and a newspaper clipping announcing that event and listing other accomplishments of York County students at Gettysburg College. VFM-384

Bible Society of Theological Seminary and Pennsylvania College. Treasurer's book from 1850-1859. MS-64pp. VFM-16

Biglerville, Pennsylvania. World War II letters to Olive Tipton and Sara Miller. MS-029

Bream, Henry T. Papers. A Gettysburg resident and College Alumni, Henry Bream was active in both community organizations and college athletics after graduation. MS-064

Cashtown Ledger. 1790-1845; with a diary January 1861-May 1863. Mentions the death of George Hartman, 165th PA. 1 AMs item. CWVFM-124

Clutz, Mrs. Jacob A. Photocopy of "Some Personal Recollections of the Battle of Gettysburg," a privately published memoir. MS-13pp. VFM-179

Company A 26th Pennsylvania. Articles and essays written about the College Company in the Pennsylvania Militia, and other accounts of the Battle of Gettysburg. 11 MS items. CWVFM-119

Cooper, Thomas Yost. The collection gives insight into the special interests of Thomas Yost Cooper, a Hanover, PA newspaper man, including local and Pennsylvania history, writing, reading, the newspaper business, movies, and Marlene Dietrich. MS-113

Duttera, John W. Duttera was a Staff Sergeant in the Army Air Force and stationed in the Philippines where he worked on aircraft engines. The collection largely includes letters from Duttera to Ruth Feiser, who later became his wife, of New Oxford, PA, 30 June 1942-17 December 1945. The collections also consists of letters written by Joseph Atland 19 January 1942-18 March 1943, one note from William Heller, 23 December 1943, one letter by one letter by Charles Blackburn, May 1943, letters written by Ruth Feiser, photographs, copies of newspaper clippings, and song lyrics and jokes. 2 boxes. MS-094

Eisenhower Society papers. The collection contains the Eisenhower Society correspondence, administrative and program materials covering the period 1986-1999, including the Society's increased activity and involvement in connection with the October, 1990 centennial celebration of Eisenhower's birth. MS-111

Fortenbaugh, Robert B. The Robert B. Fortenbaugh papers consist mainly of material related to his professional careers as a Lutheran minister and a professor of history at Gettysburg College.  It also includes copies of sermons delivered and articles written on local and Pennsylvania History. MS-097

Gettysburg Store Ledger, 1853-1866. The book includes store and Gettysburg Bank transactions. 1 box. Unprocessed collection.

Jacobs, Michael-Meteorological Observations.

Microprint copies of meteorological observations recorded by Professor Michael Jacobs at Gettysburg, 1839-1852, from microfilm of the original housed at the National Weather Records Center in Ashville, N.C. D1. VFM-386

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Special Collections Guides
Contact:
Special Collections & College Archives Musselman Library
Gettysburg College
Box 420
300 N. Washington Street
Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-337-7002 - Director

717-337-7006 - Archivist

717-337-7014 - General Inquiries
Website

Questions?

Ask an Archivist

Special Collections Reading Room

Musselman Library, 4th Floor

All research visits are by appointment only

We have 6 research tables available for booking during our research hours

Mon, Thurs, Fri : 1 - 5 PM
Tues, Wed : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Students, faculty, and staff can schedule research appointments using 

LibCal